Self-Discovery, Magnus Carlsen - The G.O.A.T, Hivechess S17 Round 9

in The Chess Community2 months ago

The journey to self-discovery is very important in life.

jayden-yoon-zk-OGWTZqz3wiI-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Jayden Yoon ZK on Unsplash

But it can be tricky as well, the path isn't usually a straight one.

Personally, I have found myself indulging and trying out so many different things, all in the quest to discover what really works and what's meant for me.

It is a journey often characterized by introspection, exploration, and personal growth.

One major aspect of finding oneself is self-awareness.

The ability to understand our strengths, weaknesses, and emotions is very crucial to the path of self-discovery.
It enables us to make conscious choices that align our actions with our true selves.

Exploration is another key element to self-discovery.

joshua-sortino-lRA_WTczjgw-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

I've sometimes been made fun of for being a "Jack of all trades". I do a lot of explorations, I start different projects, and try to learn a wide variety of skills.

I do all that because I believe that by exploring new experiences, you gain a deeper understanding of yourself and what brings you joy and fulfillment.

Like I spoke about in the previous blog: What is Life's purpose?
One cannot escape the Yin and Yang of life, we all must experience life in its fullness.

rishabh-dharmani-x0gw9YspcR4-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Rishabh Dharmani on Unsplash

Similarly, challenges and obstacles are inevitable on the journey of self-discovery. Failures are bound to occur. These challenges may come in the form of setbacks, failures, or even doubts.

However, overcoming these obstacles is an essential part of the process.

Ultimately, finding oneself is an ongoing journey. It's not a destination to reach but a continuous process of self-exploration and growth.

As you go through life, remember to stay open-minded, embrace change, and be true to yourself.


The Greatest Of All Time

If there is one person I could point to who has done an incredible job in self-discovery, that person will be Magnus Carlsen – the current world no.1 and 5x World Chess Champion, arguably the Greatest Player of All Time.

GGY-2xuXsAEznYv.jpg
Photo by Photochess

Magnus has come to truly understand himself, his strengths and weaknesses and that's one reason he has a serious edge over some of his opponents. During the tournament games, players' heart rates were monitored, and Magnus was the only one able to maintain a heart rate of less than 100 throughout the tournament

For me though, I'll say he certainly is the G.O.A.T.

Especially after his recent victory at the Weissenhaus Freestyle Chess G.O.A.T Challenge 2024.

Magnus has clearly proven he is the undisputed champion of Chess. Winning every format and time-control he lays his hands on. Although he gave up his classical crown. He is currently the World Rapid and Blitz Champion

This tournament is his 5th tournament victory in a row and 10th out of his last 15. Extraordinary performance!

This tournament though wasn't the regular format. It was a Chess 960 format, previously called Fischer-random, and now Freestyle Chess. It is a format where the officials (pieces behind the pawns) are arranged in non-traditional ways.

The tournament featured 8 of the best players in the world, including the current World Champion Ding Liren. It began with a Rapid round-robin to decide the pairings for the playoffs (Quarterfinals to Finals).

Nodirbek Abdusattorov won the Rapid section but was knocked out by Magnus Carlsen in the semi-finals. He did end up finishing 4th place, however.

Magnus Carlsen won the tournament with a grand prize of $60,000 by defeating Fabiano Caruana, world no. 2 in the finals.

GGhZAWwXIAAXXIB.jpg
Photo by Amruta Mokal


Hive Chess

Similar to the Freestyle Chess Challenge, this week's edition of Hivechess by @stayoutoftherz was also in Chess960 format.

I really had fun playing this format. I tied on equal points with the winners but came in 3rd on tiebreak.

Today I'll be sharing with you an analysis of just one of my games, as I'm not really that good at chess 960 and, to be honest not really confident with my analysis of it.

Hivechess S17 Round 9 Arena
Pavarotty vs ZGM_Samostically view full game here

h1.png

This was the starting position of the game.

White started with g3 with the idea of developing his Bishop to g2. The drawback of this move though, is that he'll need to play f4 or f3 in order to develop his other bishop on g1.

h2.png

I decided to go d5, develop in the center. Recently found out it's a good opening strategy in Chess960 to develop in the center when you have the queen and rooks in the center.

h3.png

10...c4
By move 10 I was already very happy with my position. My pieces were developed and I had a space advantage and was now treating an attack on White's King.

h4.png

d3? a mistake, now I have c3 with a strong attack.
Unfortunately, though, I wasn't able to capitalize accurately and my next few moves were less than optimal.

h5.png

15.Qe2?! Better was Ng5, and after white takes the Bishop I'd have no more advantage.
I took on g3 however, which for some reason the computer doesn't like. It's giving white a +1.4 advantage in this position. I think the reason is after 0-0, white could use the g-file to launch an attack on my King, with his own king safely tucked away on g1.

H6.png

White Indeed Castle and played the Ng5 and took away my Bishop

I did a lot of maneuvering in the quest for an initiative. Luckily, I got Qa2 and now I felt I was winning again. I won a pawn on the next move after Qa2 26. Rbf1 Qxc2

h7.png

My opponent then sacced an exchange with 27. Nxe5 Nxe5 28. Rxe5 Bxe5 29. Bxe5 Ng6 which I wasn't convinced about.

h8.png

31.Rf7?? trying to put pressure on the pinned rook but unfortunately, this was a blunder. Can you spot why this is a blunder?

Yep, Nxe5! And everything is defended.

This was ultimately the deciding mistake. The game ended soon after a few more moves 32. Rf8+ Kc7 33. Qf4 Qd1+ 34. Kh2 Re6 35. Rf5 Rde7 36. g6 hxg6 37. Rf8 c2 38. Rc8+ Kxc8 39. Qf8+ Kc7 0-1


I hope you enjoyed today's blog and game analysis. You can check out the official Hive Chess Article
And to view more games from the tournament, click here


samosti 2.png

The best.jpeg

I am @samostically,I love to talk and write about chess because i benefited alot from playing chess. I love to review books and movies too!.I believe life is all about staying happy and maintaining peace.

♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟

samosti 2.png

Thanks For Reading!