My Grandmother's Life and Memory 祖母の生活と思い出 [English and Japanese]

in Hive JA16 days ago

IMG_7286.jpeg

My Grandmother's Life and Memory

My grandmother has reached a very old age, and these days she has stopped talking, but she still lives her life with remarkable resilience. She now lives in an old age home because her dementia has progressed significantly over the past few years. I am grateful that she is in a safe environment with ample support.

However, due to COVID-19, her residence has implemented strict safety protocols to protect its elderly residents. As a result, visiting her has become infrequent compared to before. Two years ago, during one of my visits, I could only see her through a large clear window and communicate with her over the phone. It was a challenging experience for both the staff and my mother and me.

Despite the limitations, I was glad for the opportunity to see her. She was eager for me to come inside, repeatedly inviting me with a cheerful 'This is bothering us!' while pointing at the window. During that visit, I brought her a small gift, a fluffy stuffed rabbit. Its soft, gentle texture was intended to provide her with comfort amid her dementia. Initially, she seemed confused as to why I was holding the rabbit outside. However, just before our departure, she suddenly remembered me and asked, "Is this [my name]?" I was overjoyed that she recalled me in that moment, even if she would soon forget again.

During winter, my mother informed me that her condition had worsened. I couldn't help but worry and silently asked myself, "Is she leaving us soon?" Her internal response was reassuring "Not yet." I chose to trust her silent assurance.

IMG_7287.jpeg

Recently, my mother visited my grandmother bearing a Mother's Day gift. It was a beautiful picture book about vegetables. My grandmother had always excelled at maintaining her garden. Her soil with special compost yielded perfect results. Despite my attempts to emulate her, I've never quite matched her gardening prowess. To me, she is the master of the garden.

My mother sent me a video of my grandmother engrossed in the gardening book, particularly captivated by the pages about her favorite vegetable, tomatoes. She appeared confident as she flipped through the pages, inspecting the tomatoes in the video. I reassured myself, "You see, your grandmother said 'Not Yet.'"

The video deeply touched me, and I was grateful for my mother's efforts in preserving my grandmother's well-being. Surprisingly, my grandmother began eating her meals again after a period of reduced appetite. I couldn't help but wonder if she had emerged from her winter hibernation. Hopefully, she will continue to eat regularly.

IMG_7288.jpeg

This little guy is the one I gave her when I visited her two years ago. The staff at the daycare often try to remind my grandmother of the rabbit's presence, I suppose. In the video, the rabbit was sitting in her lap as she read the book. I hope this rabbit continues to stay with her, protecting her for as long as possible.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_7286.jpeg

祖母の生活と思い出

かなり高齢になった私の祖母はこのところ話さないようですが、目覚ましい回復をして一生懸命生きてくれています。認知症の症状を鑑みて、現在は老人ホームに入居してそこで生活しています。ここ数年、安全な環境とサポートがあることをありがたく感じています。

コロナ禍で入居者さんたちの安全を確保するためにかなり厳しい感染防止対策が設置されていましたので、以前のように面会者が割と自由に訪問するということができなくなってしまいました。2年前、祖母を訪れた際には、大きな透明の窓越しで電話を使用しての対面を果たすことができました。施設のスタッフの方にとっても私たちにとっても、初めての試みでした。

制限はありましたが、祖母と会えたことが嬉しかったです。祖母は私たちに中に入ってくるように「これ、じゃまだね〜!」と、窓を指さしてこちらに向かって声をかけてくれました。訪問するにあたって、ふわふわのウサギのぬいぐるみを差し入れに持っていきました。そのぬいぐるみの柔らかい感触が認知症の症状を和らげてくれる効果があるのではないかと思ったからです。初めはウサギのぬいぐるみを持って外に立っている私を見て少々混乱している様子でした。面会時間終了間際に、祖母は突然私に向かって「あら〜○○(私の名前)でしょ?」と聞いてきてくれました。私のことを思い出してくれた瞬間が、たとえその後また忘れてしまったとしても嬉しかったです。

冬の間、母から祖母の症状があまり良くないという報告を受けていました。残念な気持ちで過ごしていたのですが、心の中で「もうすぐ去ってしまうの?」と祖母に問いかけてみると、「まだ」という返答が心の中に響いてきましたので、その言葉を信じるようにしていました。

IMG_7287.jpeg

先日、私の母が母の日用の素敵な野菜の絵がたくさん描かれた本の贈り物を持って祖母のところを訪れたと教えてくれました。 祖母は畑をするのがものすごく上手でした。祖母がコンポーストの肥料を混ぜて作った土は上出来でした。祖母の真似をして畑を作ろうと思っても私には到底真似できるものではありません。私にとって祖母は庭の師匠です。

祖母がその本を読んでいるところを、私の母がビデオに撮って送ってくれました。そこには祖母が好きなトマトのページを読んでいる情景が撮影されていました。上手に指を使ってページをめくりながら興味深そうに本を眺めていました。その様子を観て、「ほら、やっぱりおばあちゃんが言った通り、まだだよ」ということだということを自分に言い聞かせました。

そのビデオをに映る祖母が頑張っている姿を観ていると、とても落ち着き感激しました。撮影をしてくれた母に感謝します。驚くことに、全然食欲がなく食べることができていなかった祖母がご飯をきちんと食べているとの報告もありました。冬の間は冬眠でもしていたのではないかと思ってしまうほど食欲がなかったため、ホッとしました。このまま食欲が保たれてご飯を食べてくれることを願います。

IMG_7288.jpeg

この小さな子が2年前に訪れたときに持って行った例のウサギです。介護士の方々が、祖母の手元に置くように心がけてくださっているのだと思いました。本を読んでいるビデオの中の祖母の膝の上には、このウサギが座っていました。このウサギが祖母のそばでお守りとなって見守ってくれますように。

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

2077A8E9-4BA9-408F-815F-7E34FF8034E7.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

Sort:  

I’ve heard so many stories of grandparents and parents who couldn’t meet anyone for the entire pandemic. Everyone was worried about getting sick but I wonder what kind of affect this had on people’s mental health. I’m so glad you can meet and make physical contact now, I’m sure it made her so happy. She sounds very sweet

Yeah, the rules and restrictions were very strict and tough for families and older people for quite a long time. Nowadays, visitors still have to book their visits and have a time limit. We really appreciate that they are trying to protect older people and families, but as you said, 'mental health' is a big issue for everybody, for sure. Yes, I was happy to meet my grandmother even though there was a big clear door between us. Now, my mother can meet her in person and can touch her.

Thank you!