Yesterday I went to my parents' house in Kamiayashi/昨日は上愛子の実家に行きました

in Hive JA6 months ago (edited)

DSC_1273.JPG
This photo is a view of Hachiman taken yesterday.

My younger sister told me that my maternal aunt and uncle were rushed to the hospital after an automobile accident and that my uncle is in serious condition, and after learning that my father, who is in a nursing home, needs assistance during excretion and uses urine pads, I went to get my mourning clothes I had left in my parents' house in Kamiayashi yesterday, just in case things went wrong.

I took a bus bound for Sakunami Onsen via Ayashi, passing through green mountains on the way, and got off at a bus stop near my parents' house. My younger sister had turned off the water supply, so I could not use the toilet. I used the toilet at a convenience store. I have no good memories of this house, and I feel depressed when I come here. I checked the mailbox, but it was empty. I unlocked the door and went inside. There is a Buddhist altar, so there is a peculiar smell.

I went upstairs to my room. The room was messy to begin with, but since there was a big earthquake, the TV and many other things had fallen and were scattered around. I found mourning clothes in the closet. Now I have finished with my business. I am worried about what to do with this house after my father's death, but I decided not to think about that yesterday.

I felt lighter on the way home. I have to send my mourning clothes to the cleaner. I returned to Hachiman and had a cup of tea at the usual Doutor. At least one worry is gone for now.

Thanks for reading.

妹から母方の伯父と伯母が自動車事故で病院に運ばれて伯父が重篤な状態であることを聞かされたり、老人施設に入っている私の父が排泄時の介助が必要で、尿パッドも使っていることを知り、万が一のことを考えて上愛子の実家に残してきた喪服を昨日、取りに行きました。

愛子経由の作並温泉行きのバスに乗り、途中、緑の多い山の中を通り、実家近くのバス停で降りました。実家は水道を止めているのでトイレが使えません。コンビニで用を足しました。あまりいい思い出のない家で、ここに来ると気分が落ち込みます。郵便受けをチェックしましたが、中は空っぽでした。ドアの鍵を開けて中へ入りました。仏壇があるので独特な匂いがします。

2階の自分の部屋に行きました。元々部屋は散らかっていましたが、大きな地震があったのでテレビや他にもいろいろなものが落ちて散乱していました。押し入れの中に喪服が見つかりました。これでこの家には用がないです。父が亡くなったあとのこの家の処分が心配ですが、昨日はそのことを考えないことにしました。

帰りは気分が軽くなりました。喪服はクリーニングに出さないと。八幡に戻っていつものドトールで紅茶を飲みました。とりあえず一つ心配事がなくなりました。

読んでくださってありがとうございます。