You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [NOTICE] Anime Realm Community Update

I think i was on the discord server, but in the last year purge (I do a yearly clean up of dead discord servers) i think it was deleted, just alongside of other hive dead projects like "la radio" and stuff like that... I think i deleted it because I never saw a single soul talking on it, Maybe one day this place gets lifted up and we get to remove the webs out of it, as well as the dust and maybe a few dead spiders and skeletons, but right now im just happy to know you still active on hive, and that sometimes people do post in here, If it ever reaches to 10 to 20 people per week I would spamm my comments in here, maybe not a post, but comments is a surefire thingy with me xD I kind of do a lot of them when I do become active on hive.

Sort:  

Ah, I think you meant the old server where it was just deleted by the previous owner. I'm referring to the one mentioned on the post I've written. I didn't share the link to that new server.

Here's my take on general overall inactivity on Hive in some communities, it's controversial, as much as I want to believe people are really interested about the stuff they post, there's that side nagging thought that at the back of my head, it's all just a quota and a chance to get some votes. I know not everyone operates on this mentality and they actually blog what they are interested in and money becomes a side benefit.

If I see a user that has a social media presence outside Hive posting anime art on social media sites that don't involve money for sharing content, I'm likely to believe these people like what they do and it's less about the profit motive because they've been already doing content for free. But for people that got on Hive and just happen to like anime get a whack at the content creation gig, I'm less likely convinced until they start being consistent at the hobby.

This is the base level of expectation I have with the Hive community in general and I don't think it's necessarily a bad thing because it's the system ingrained but it also highlights how human behavior works if someone who never even remotely expressed they like anime suddenly posted about anime just cause some activity and big votes flocked into a community. I could be wrong and this is just my unsolicited opinion on the inactivity we have.

Eventually you'll see people will post on areas that have likely the same interest and we will eventually find each other online. But for now, maybe there aren't a lot of people that actually make up the numbers to be subjectively considered an active community. I know my art community here on Hive is made up of 3-5 members with 3 as a base minimum and we're still running the community.

Well it was not unsolicited, in fact I agree to some of your points about the inactivity, Yes I was referring to the old server I think, I guessed it was the new one but It seems I was wrong on that guess, I usually dont do content at all, in fact, Hive is my first content creation experience at all, I began two years ago here, about late February, the account was made on November because a friend insisted on me doing it and checking it out.

At the time i was just fresh out of a divorce and in a suicidal state, so I was... not fit for doing content, and yet hive helped me a lot to patch myself up, to discover what kind of content I liked to both read and make, and to enjoy while doing it, for me hive is like a special place that makes me feel like I can keep moving forward.

It is hive where I posted every month of my daughter pregnancy, her every growing phase and where I posts my unsolicited opinions on movies, films, my cat, fatherhood, and about how to handle chronic depression and stuff like that, I also discovered that I loved to write short stories, at the beginning I went with "based on real life", cases or people I knew, reimagined context, then I went batshit crazy and started with fantasy a lot, In fact that is one of the reasons I wanted to dive into animerealm, but the lack of engagement, that 0 comments on the posts, each time I checked an eye on the community, that... that one hurts, So Instead of feeding my insecurity and fear of being ignored I posts on the places were I already got answers and comments, in fact I stopped posting about my cat at all because no one ever commented on it... the worse part was that they were heavily rewarded, Cleopatra my empress is one hell of a cute cat, so people voted it a lot... But I just don't feel right when I get no engagement at all.

I consider that if they were begging in hive and at some point they sacrifice votes in exchanges of engagement, then they are to be called hivers, or maybe I'm just some insecure guy that still likes a comment more than a 4$ vote, who knows, not me xD

There are two extremes on Hive, those that do little engagement but get rewarded high are either doing some service that is useful to the blockchain or just have loaded friends on the platform, and the other side of the spectrum where people with less actually know how to play the social game and strive to connect with others.

Those in the middle that make up the majority take a dip on all areas without doing anything meaningful. They quit, or stay long without adapting and convinced that the system is rigged against them, but my truth is that if you engage with the community and give it some value for your time, the community will pay you back. For those that don't know this social economy, they post and go expecting the attention gets handed down on them unconditionally. The most common predictor of success for those that don't have a lot of stake is just being a team playing chatterbox people would want to be conversing with.

There's nothing wrong with wanting those, it's what majority want but probably too hesitant to admit. And this is a market opportunity to spread one's influence because you know what you want and you're not alone in the platform.

Yet we see the platform slowly stall and decay, haven't you noticed? Hive relation with bitcoin is increasingly more and more balanced in favor of Bitcoin, and its price have dropped to previously established balances, meaning that some day, Hive as a platform might not be able to support itself and it might slowly die, this gives me the chills to the point of nonsense, because I believe on the hive project quite a lot as it helped me cope with my personal shit in ways anything else would never have...

But I have to admit most want money, it is how it works and people don't usually say it, Hive ironically is my main support in economy income, to the point of doing a power down just to save money to pay my Italian citizenship costs, and some debts that my salary just dint help me cut.

I think you are right about Those in the middle that make up the majority take a dip on all areas without doing anything meaningful Maybe I am in that area, doing nothing, using my time for nothing... I never thought about it...