You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Shall I Do With My Art?

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago

Promote wherever and whenever you can to any community as long as you also get involved with the community you're promoting on. Hive is a comfort zone if we started out here and the validations from the rewards we get are nice and all but this is just a small pond in an ocean of potential growth as an artist. By expanding on other platforms, we have a chance to spread our name and grow as an artists at the same time getting some potential traction in the community we're in.

We can expand what Hive is about through other platforms the same way other artists from other platforms expand on this blockchain too. We do our part for the blockchain by doing self marketing and that is already a big contribution compared to anyone that just content dumps on this place.

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback! You're probably right, Hive is just a small pond still. And maybe I'm holding myself back by not expanding on other platforms and try my luck on Ethereum.
I'm still so new to this whole business, and I wasn't prepared for that ^^ So I really appreciate your opinion <3
So on which platforms do you promote your art?

Instagram, Twitter and Deviantart. The target demographic I'm aiming for are millenials and teens and if I scale up some skills for digital painting, will try to get into gaming concept art. Crypto art is a niche and my style isn't suited for it for now. I do experiment once in a while but trying to focus some energies on the primary goal first.

These platforms have high traffic while competitive amongst other artists, it's a necessary strife. An artist that doesn't compete for attention will have trouble driving themselves to do better in the market, well that's my take anyway, some artist just thrive better not competing but do art with whatever works for you.

Wow, sounds like you're really organized and focused in your promotion efforts! That's inspiring!
I was thinking about Deviantart too, but I didn't know if it's still a thing. So obviously it it, right? Maybe I do a bit more research on that.

Thanks again for your advice! <3

Welcome. It's still a thing for young artists trying to explore online. But you have to invest some time marketing yourself and the community there to get anywhere. Being good isn't enough. All these platforms have artists competing for attention and being good isn't enough is an understatement. It's a steep climb as you also need to negotiate with the algorithms on discoverability. The less likes you get as soon as you post you automatically get bumped out of the front page as several posts splurge out by the minute or hour.