Creating my first ever digital art in Adobe Photoshop

This is my first-ever post about my digital art using Adobe Photoshop. I am not really confident making digital or handmade art because it’s far from my interest. Thus, my skill in this field is not really good. Since I am expecting that we will have a digital art subject, which I am currently taking called Computer Graphics and Visual Computing, The very first time we met our professor, he asked us to make an impromptu artwork, and I was like, "How can I make one?"

From the moment we started taking lessons from him, I made small progress each day. I practiced making an emoji because it’s the most basic one that I can create. Pardon me, but I am a big fan of using emojis. So, I decided to share my current progress with everyone here in the Hive. Do not expect much from me since I am just a newbie and have no choice but to make the grade. But my mindset is changing because I am now enjoying creating various digital arts.

1.png

I mentioned earlier that I've been making emojis for the past few days, and this is a vampire emoji. First, I created the shape of the emoji and used the circle tool in the ellipse tool. Then I just added a spike in the lower part so that it would look like something new.


3.png

Then, I used the pen tool to create the shape of the eyes, the eyeliner, and the cornea. Although I am creating a vampire type, I do not want it to be scary. Thus, I cannot make a perfect eye for this because whenever I try, it doesn't make the shape I want.


4.png

The eyebrow is quite fiery, and I want to extend it outside the body. I am inspired by old characters in anime, so I just adapted it here. I'd like to extend it further, but it doesn't work.


5.png

This time I made a party hat, and I don’t know why. I feel like it’s cute to put it there. Perhaps I am just excited about my birthday. The process of making the tail with a trident at its end is quite complicated for me because I am only using the pen tool on my mouse. It’s very hard.


demimoji.png

Finally, because the vampire's teeth are iconic and symbolic, I draw four fangs up and down. I changed its color, and that suited it more. Thus, I added a pair of wings and the shadow below. I loved the result, although it was not a very professional output.


8.png

For the next emoji, I made a hybrid type. It is a mix of a bat and a bunny type. It is a mix of a bat and a bunny. The same shape, a circle, because I cannot think of an emoji that is not a circle shape. My inspiration for this emoji is my pet rabbits and the bats that fly through my area every night.


9.png

I decided to make the eyes and mouth. Before I created this emoji, I was thinking of the scene between the vampire emoji and this one. I want them to have fear on their faces because they will be transported to another place through a portal. just my normal and childish mindset.


10.png

As you can see, the eyebrows are extended once again. I think this is my style, though. My preference is for the brow to be long and prominent. This one is big and thick, though. Thus, the bunny ears are so cute. I want it to be short, not too long, because it will contrast the shape of the eyebrows.


11.png

The same with the vampire emoji—I add a pair of wings because this is a hybrid type. Of course, there is a wing in a bat. I put a space at the top of its wings because it looks good. I'd like to add a line in the wings to make it more alive, but I'm unable to do so.


rabbit-bat.png

Finally, the background and the shadow I created are also based on the color of the body. I darkened it slightly so that the body did not dominate. If you are wondering why I am not using a paintbrush tool to make a more pleasing background, It’s not that I won't, but that I can’t. My knowledge of Adobe Photoshop is quite limited at the moment.

finalart3.png

In this final phase, it took me seven hours to conceptualize this scene. You know the feeling that it’s in your head, but you don’t know how you will start or how you will do it. But slowly, like a turtle, I was able to finish it. The theme is nighttime because it involves a bat and a vampire. It is in the forest, and the vampire emoji is getting these poor bat-bunny emojis in the portal that passes through a vampire kingdom or something. So, that’s how I make my very first digital art, and feel free to suggest anything for my improvement.

Sort:  

Great job Denn! Ito pala yung ilang araw ko ng nakikita sa story mo hehe more pa!

!PIZZA

Opo ate. Hahaha. Medyo pasilip at myday story ko lang po yung progress ko don para mainspire ako gawin. Lol. Hirap talaga nya for me, nakakapanibago.

Kayang kaya mo yan, kaw pa ba!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
cthings tipped dennnmarc (x1)
cindee08 tipped dennnmarc (x1)
@chileng17(1/5) tipped @dennnmarc (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Wow! Congrats @dennnmarc I enjoyed watching your artwork. Its so nice.How wish I can make it too. But, I think it takes a year to learn this especially I have a lot of things that need to focus on.

Oh my! Thanks so much, ate @dehai. It took me almost 12 hours to finish this art. Lol. I think you can make it, too. I am someone who I cannot imagine myself making this kind of art so I think just by learning it thoroughly, you'll make it.

Maybe gang @dennnmarc I can.Thanks for the encouragement..

Awesome Work bro. You literally Nailed it! Creative one.

Thank you, bro. I appreciated it a lot. I hope I can make something new out of emojis again that is way better than this.

Wow you made it extraordinary! The digital art in Adobe photoshop is worth to try! Good job!

Indeed, I would to sharpen my digital skills even more. But I have to focus and balance my time in all of my subjects. Hehe

Ang cuteeeee, masyado mong ginagalingan denden. Paganito ganito kalang sa una pero soon ka-career-in mo na din yan lalo you are enjoying it na UwU. Of ever maka create kapa ng more like this, ped na e mint yan yiehhh, gawin ng NFT yan, hihi
Anf I love your second design here. Specially the eyes, ang cute cute kasi, uwu

Grabii. Ibang level naman si Jiji. Uwu. She's a pro na sa mga pag gawa ng NFT. Basic drawing lang me saka wala po akong tablet eh. Naka mouse lang gamit ko, masyadong mahirap sa drawing.

Nukaba, nag umpisa din sa ganyan si Jiji. You are starting palang din, for sure soon maggogrow kapa. If no pursue mo lang, malay mo diba.

Not bad for your first attempts! Practice makes perfect and this start looks very promising. Cheers!

Oh, thanks so much, bro. Indeed, practice makes perfect. And of course, as you practice, you should develop it even more. Thanks for coming by!

The green ones are cute.. You can make your own NFT too like Jiji 😁

Aww, mukhang matagal pa ko bago maging Jiji level haha. Hirap mag gawa ng art, very time consuming at yung concept

It turned out really good, Den!

You know the feeling that it’s in your head, but you don’t know how you will start or how you will do it.

I know this so well, haha! I stare at a blank canvas for a while until I go "art block". So, I just call it a day and start again tomorrow.

Thanks, Ji. Reading this from you is so assuring. Emz. I hope I can make good painting and portrait soon. Lol


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jijisaurart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Well done, Denn!!
That's your profile pic on Discord, right? I thought it's a character from an animation movie! Sooo cute 😍 Cheers to more digital art from u!

!PIZZA

Thanks, C. Haha. Nah, I made it. Hmm. Gosh, you thought it's a character from an animation? Hmm. Grabeee.

These are so cite. Well done! Reminds me of angry birds. Heheh

Oh my! Yeah, angry birds are so adorable characters as well. Especially the baby ones. Thanks so much ate!

Well done DM! It doesn't show that you are just learning. To me, this is advanced already :)
!LUV

Nice work bro!

Ang cute parang Digimon🥰.. !PIZZA