Chick-n-Guya

Chickenguya1.gif

I made this bird back when the chicunguya was a thing.. nothing fancy, just funkiness. Finished making it even funkier, to bring some funk to funkytown.

Knot Stumbling

Many times I have brought myself to think that some art I do, I shouldn't put it out there, for some reason. I keep stumbling and getting stuck somewhere along the lines of selling, getting organized and sitting down to think about pieces and stuff like that. I make some pieces that never make it to the light of day.

I tend to put my art down because it doesn't have a "worked concept". It's funny because it's always a tug-o-war between different corners of my mind that wants x or y because of different reasons like beliefs or things I've read or have heard someone said, etc.

In the end, I keep standing for improvisation and making funky in-the-moment things even if they make no sense at all. Good things come out of the nothing. That's the idea behind everything that I do. That itself IS my message.

Doodle away!

Graphic Design vs. Art

Vlada Vukadinovic, professor of design and illustration

For Vukadinovic, the main reason design differs from fine arts is that “Fine artists communicate personal opinion, feelings, etc. through work.”

“[A] designer communicates a specific message to a specific audience, often for a client,” Vukadinovic said. “Designers are an integral part of the economy.” "
source

I've loved art since I was a kid. I drawed, painted, sculpted with clay.

I studied graphic design for 4 years. This led me to experience and immerse myself into both worlds.

As an artist, I'm the one setting the rules, making the changes, calling the colors. I say what goes and what not. I call for approval or disapproval. This is why I would choose art before graphic design, but it's beautiful to use it as a tool of creation and communication, and also having the knowledge to use it for clients too - which you might have read my rants about here.

Some of my doodling is abstract. Some are just characters that are not doing anything, they just are. Some are intrinsic lines just swirling away into imaginative space and color. One of my struggles has always been to make sense of the characters or objects in relationship to myself, to have them interact with their environment or with other characters in a way that shows a story or message. In advertising, graphic design, the ads with the best concept are the ones that are the best for getting the message across, and the same happens with art.

However, after having long periods of time without maybe even wanting to sit down and think about some concept, I would just rather grab a pen and doodle something.

In these lines of thinking, I have lost myself, stumbling into knots that have made it hard for me to express myself. But in the mean time, I have also done some very nice artwork when I have let myself go from the criticism.

Equilibrium

I have found that for me, it's about finding a balance point where creation flows freely in between the demand for structure, value, quantity and approval by the rational mind, and the inner kid that wants to play, and have fun, and share colors, shapes; bring bliss into the world through creation. There's really actually no pressure to make creations that speak because creation by itself already speaks universes, even when it's the simple drawing of a chicken or another funky face of some random character.

BOJOTE-07.jpg
Another random funky character face I made back then (2015)

Pattern & Decoration

For me, it boils down to playing, having fun, enjoying, experimenting, sharing, expressing, and communicating. I push myself for (like the client asking for the design), but also like to share what comes in different shapes, colors, sounds, angles, textures, etc.) Sometimes I try to communicate a message, others I just try to make things that look and feel great.

I visited this expo at MOCA (Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles) a few years ago, and stumbled upon a Pattern & Decoration Art Expo that really changed my mind about art. Text on the expo explains why:

IMAG2488.jpg
Source: Photo by me at Pattern & Decoration Expo at Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

IMAG2469.jpg
Source: Photo by me at Pattern & Decoration Expo at Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

Check out the amazing artwork in that expo.
IMAG2487.jpg
Source: Photo by me at Pattern & Decoration Expo at Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

IMAG2483.jpg
Source: Photo by me at Pattern & Decoration Expo at Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

IMAG2466.jpg
Source: Me at Pattern & Decoration Expo at Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

This gives me another perspective on things, specially considering the humble crafts of native people around the world. Native craft art is not only beautiful, its valuable, just like all other art forms. I loved the boldness of the message that the expo was presenting. It made me rethink what I'm doing from the perspective of being a native descendant. Proud and humble with these lines n' colors.


The Chicken-Guya

The good thing about digital art is you can always easily go back and pick up on UFOs (Unfinished objects), or even FOs that you want to refurbish. This is what I did with this chicken vector doodle I did back in 2015 and made it into these two NFTs.

BOJOTE-06 copy.jpg
Original Chicken-Guya Art (2015)

I called this 'Chicken-guya', in a mocking and playful way to the disease "chicungunya". I thought it was a funny thing to put the word chicken in there. I used a background I was actually doing for something else, and BAM! .. a nice psy GIF came to existence. Of course, naming it that wasn't easy to approve by my inner critic, specially because of it's incongruency since this is a healthy chick.

I'm minting this one as a 2/2 in NFTShowroom Property rights included, which means you can use it however you like if you get one.

Chickenguya1.gif
Chick-n-Guya NFT (2021)


If you like my art, please support my Art-Life Dream

All my links: Linktree


Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Crafting dreams through shapes, doodles, colors, good vibes, infinite creative energy, NFTs and fun.

Sort:  

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

This one turned out really cool. I love owls and you did a great job making this art. =)

Thank you so much Castle!
It was supposed to be a chicken, but I guess it does look somewhat like an owl 😋

The glasses look like they say 'hOOh' like owls say 'who.' Hahhaa... Owls are kind of like giant predatory nocturnal flying chickens... kinda.

hahha I had not seen that! so it is an owl!.. you know them from afar, I can see 😄 They are very similar animals in fact, I hadn't really put mind to it. I really like owls too. One of my first digital paintings was this owl:

Buho.gif

That one looks super cool! This has been a funny conversation.