Iris Memoirs - Digital Painting

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

THB.jpg

Greetings my fellow hive aliens!

I made this digital painting back in 2010. I refreshed it to give it a different style and a more magical space aura.

This was a completely digital piece, so I started with a sketch which I did with my tablet back then.

I tokenized the artwork in NFTShowroom

Robotsketch.jpg

I started to lay colors loosely to start giving the piece some shape. I also started to shadow/highlight some areas and made a simple multi-colored gradient background.

Robotsketch2.jpg

I started to work on the grass patch. I wanted the robot from outer space to appear as if it was walking through nature. I threw in some butterflies to add to the scene.

Robotsketch3.jpg

I worked on the inking with a thick line, outlining the whole piece.

Robotsketch4.jpg

... and finally finished the grass to make it appear as if the robot's "feet" are beyond the grass which is closer to the spectator's view.

This is where I left off my piece back in 2010. I really like the minimalist paint and the simple shadowing and lighting I did back then, but as I said before, I wanted to give it a more mystical and space aura, plus some more detail to make it POP!

Robotsketch5.jpg

Forward 10 years, 2020, Hum updated his robot and has found himself in the same situation as when he was younger.

Robotsketch6.jpg

The background of memories started to blur out.

Robotsketch7.jpg

Ten years later, Hum found another iris flower while wandering through mystical spatial forest lands. It made him remember old times and imagined life outside the robot. He profoundly questioned life and nature as he kept gazing through the light of the iris.

Robotsketch8.jpg

The smokey space haze slowly started to descend, blur the surroundings and fill the air with star crystals. Hum realized he was living in a dream, but there was still way more to discover in this vast ocean of what he called space reality.

Robotsketch11.jpg

As he came back through space and time, Hum traveled through an eternal flow of emotions that reminded him of all his loved ones, his friends, family, everyone he'd ever known, and everything he'd ever lived. He remembered what it was to smile, and stopped frowning for the first time in years. Tired, he headed home, exhausted, but satisfied and thankful for the long years he had lived frowning, but alive.


This artwork has been tokenized in NFTShowroom.
You can buy apparel and other items with this artwork in the Doodledanga Redbubble Shop

I used these two free-for-commercial-use images for the background:

milkyway984050.jpg
Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

skyspacemilkywaystars110854.jpg
https://www.pexels.com/photo/sky-space-milky-way-stars-110854/


Great News!

I was featured as the first artist from HIVE in the The NFT Art Magazine XXVII edition with my first tokenized artwork in NFT, Odd Eyelien Encounter. It is an absolute honor for me to be there representing our community.

BIG THANKS to everyone who has supported me. I really appreciate it.

You can check out the digital magazine in the MagNFT Website.


If you'd like to support my work, please:

  • Make a HIVE donation to my account
  • Buy my coloring pages at Gumroad
  • Buy a product with my doodles in my Redbubble Shop
  • Buy my tokenized artwork in NFTShowroom
  • Spread the word by sharing the links to my work
  • Reblog / Vote

Follow me on

Facebook
Instagram
Redbubble Shop

More of my art:

My old account @doodledanga
Vosque Atómico (Atomic Forest) (My Older Project - Facebook link)
Also visit my Atomic Forest Society6 Shop

I have graphics design, motion graphics & video-editing skills.
You can HIRE ME to create for something for you.
Check out that kind of work in my facebook page Rey C.
or my Behance Portfolio

Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program