Sort:  

Now your talking ..An arse paints a thousand words.. Now you got me thinking where to get my next ass /arse..

New subject.. Looking to buy a TREK bike.. have an old 20 plus yr old 820 Trek I bought 4 my girl friend.. Great bike.. I use it but too small 4 me.. I do a little off road so what do you think of the Trek Dual Sport 2 or a 820 that fits me.. Pretty flat terrain here on Long Island.. Any suggestions from you much appreciated. manorvillemike

I'll have a look - I never sold Trek but everything in bikes has changed anyway - how much are you looking to spend? I'm guessing there will be sales in America now heading into winter.

image.png

No bikes available due to virus and high demand.. Have to order one.. Only improvements I see 4 the dual sport 2 is wider tires and a gel seat..4 my ARSE ha ha

That trek bike looks fine. In NZ hybrid bikes are not common because they are not really up to off-road use - even gravel roads here are beyond them, but from your photos, your gravel roads look very compacted and smooth.

A gel seat is good but that is very easy to change - swapping seats is pretty std with new bikes.

In the early 90's hydraulic disc brakes hadn't even been invented - pro downhillers were racing with rim brakes.

When they came out they were $1500 an end - so $3k to set up front and rear, plus about another grand for the hubs - so setting up a pro level downhill bike could cost over $4k just for the disc brakes.

Here's is a pic of me, pre discs, pre full suspension, so basically racing on a bike not too dissimilar from what you are going to ride on the flat with...yes, I'm dinosaur!

image.png

Thanks Ian.. Would like one of those mountain bikes but too old to get any use out one anyway..I'll get around to some bike shops to see when they get one in ..just to see if I like it.. before I order one..

A mountainbike is not that different - you can always change the tyres anyway - they just handle rough terrain better - Specialized Rockhoppers were always good for the price
https://bikepacking.com/news/2021-specialized-rockhopper/

Yes that looks good

From my quick look - the 100mm fork travel is good - that really helps dealing with bumps, and it comes in a very cool blue colour. I didn't see any prices so don't know how that stacks up.

Negatives - it's heavy - that is probably mainly coming from the frame, and that seat is probably pretty hard and uncomfortable.

Single front chain rings are the fashion at the moment and that bike doesn't have one - a derailleur works fine, but that will be one of the things that makes it cheaper

To put modern bike prices in perspective - this is a downhill bike we built up in the 90's - the forks cost about $2k and the whole bike cost over $10k (and it still doesn't have a rear disk!)

image.png

specialized-rockhopper nice looking bike..will reasd up on them... yes very good prices..