You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IS IT POSSIBLE TO BE A DIGITAL EXPRESSIONIST?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

As a matter of fact, I own that camera - still - to this day. And it is laziness, based on convenience, that is why I use my phone camera rather than this camera. I actually don't take pictures anymore at all really. But film can capture that purple and other colors of the sunset - where digital cannot.

I am not happy with the way things are going - convenience does not take into account the effect of the cause. The Law of Cause and Effect is obliterated by Convenience - and along this same line - the idea of convenience or the desire for convenience twists the Law of Correspondence - As within, so without - but then you distract with some convenience and it is all justified and the blame is placed elsewhere - as well - because it displaces the responsibility of the effect created by the desire "convenience" to the shoulders of those we don't see - the little brown people on the other side of the world.

In fact, convenience flies in the face of many of the Natural Laws - the Golden Rule - if it's not convenient to treat your brother the way that you want to be treated- then convenience says - "Don't bother" this is an oversimplification - but Convenience to me cuts out "care" - the heart - convenience is the action of the psychopath. Or better yet - if you want a tool of convenience, but it causes harm to a tribe in the Amazon rain forest- fuck them - they need to be brought into the 21st century - burn the rainforest for Palm oil - we need creamy peanut butter- that's definitely convenience at work.

I hear what you are saying about tools - but humanity doesn't need any more tools until we learn how to use the ones we have with CARE - the way things are rapidly going we are headed into complete orwellian tyranny as a result of a drive for convenience...and tools of distraction.

I saw this great video of this children's book!

and it says it all - these are the values that living by convenience is stripping from society.

Convenience has produced fast food which harms animals and humans - so many things are made for convenience which cause harm to other sentient beings - this is not correct - but humanity doesn't care. CARE - that's the HEART center - that thing the psychopaths don't have - the ritual of cremation of CARE at Bohemian Grove - to absolve the world leaders of their guilt over performing terrible acts - to the God Moloch -

So, yes, the love of convenience IS the root of all evil.

Sort:  

Wow that is bizarre that you have that camera - it was a picture I just randomly chose as an old film camera that would have been a desirable one - what year is yours?

That answer is full on, I'll have to think it over before replying. When I was a bike mechanic, pretty much every development was based upon performance or convenience -they often go hand in hand.

When I had a film camera I seldom used it - every photo was time consuming and costly. I never used a digital camera until 1999 and then took to digital photograpy like a duck to water. It was taking tens of thousands of photos that got me to the point of taking photos on auto pilot and made photography a right brain rather than left brain activity.

And that is all because of the convenince of digital cameras. I don't take photos with my phone because it's inconvenient. These are my favourite cameras, they are like extensions of my hand, and the photo quality is enough to do what i want with them. Adding more purple is easy!

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/photos/my-cameras/

image.png

PS - has your Hive spellchecker disappeared?

the hive spellchecker? I think it is still working - when I misspell a word, I get a red underline - is that what you are talking about?

yes mine has disappeared

weird. Well if it makes feel better every time i comment or post I get some red thing telling me it didn't take but then it did or didn't and I have to redo it - mercury is rx so I'm sure it will come back soon.

also regarding performance and convenience - maybe convenience can be redeemed IF the effects are considered hence performance going hand in hand with convenience but in todays world with things spinning out of control so quickly i am throwing out convenience altogether and going back to the old ways of doing things as much as possible.

Yes, i actually had a 1980 Pentax K1000 - so not that exact camera but this one:
k1000.jpeg

that I bought to go to Europe with in 1980 after graduating from high school...so not exactly that camera - this one k1000.jpeg

and I also used a Nikon coolpix from 2007-2012 much as you describe... and I made these series' of artworks using photoshop channels using those digital photos - https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/spiritual-icons.html
https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/spiritual-icons.html and https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/sacred-geometry.html and I used the Pentax to take these photos that I used in these artworks: https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/intuitive-drawing.html some of these were digital photos and some were film - I used to take thousands of pictures with both cameras - and I used to have thousands of prints lying around of abstraction from Nature - https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/photography.html so I know what you mean - but since I have stopped carrying the coolpix I don't do these photos anymore - it's convenience that probably put an end to this - although after that collaboration in 2010 ended - I also got to a point of being broke and not wanting to depend on the computer for my art because of photoshop licensing because at that point I only had photoshop cs3 and I never upgraded from there and that computer now has a loose wire in the screen that no one will repair - so I realized that it was all dependent on money and so I went back to drawing at that point - but when I was shooting those pictures I would see amazing things in every aspect of life - just from framing macroshots in that camera...

I can see why you went to Gimp - I use Photoshop CS6 which is the last of the ones that can be cracked and obtained free - they went to subscription after that, but CS6 was the best one they did - yes I tried them all :)

I loved cs3 - but I just didn't like the dependence...but I can't use that mac anymore because of the screen so now I have linux and that's why I went to gimp.