You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AT WHAT POINT DOES MY ART CEASE TO BE MY OWN?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

It's great that you've been observing these conversations about art on Hive, since it's monetized and also decentralized we have some interesting considerations! Let me first say I think your art is really cool and you are definitely welcome to post here! My biggest requirement is honesty, while I prefer original art I think that really limits creativity and some people can do amazing transformational things while pulling from other sources. If you are honest about your process and where you get your inspirations, references images and don't try to pass off an artwork as it is you will be good!

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback Julia - I saw a few posts like this: https://peakd.com/hive-156509/@onchainart/onchainart-rules-update

"No Filters or AI Artwork - Again, there is nothing wrong with this sort of work, but I don't think it's a good fit for OCA and there is a Community where I think it's a better fit at this point. Alien Art Hive is a great Community Admin'ed by the amazing @juliakponsford and I think that sort of work is a great fit for that Community"

and was a bit intimidated - it's fair to say I'm "not serious" - that is some pretty amazing art but very not me, so I'm glad they pointed me in the right direction!!

image.png

 4 years ago  

Yeah that's the fun of communities, anyone can create one and enforce whatever rules they like. It's good because it creates a curated experience! Your style in this one reminds me a bit of @RichardFYates of you don't k ow him you should check out his art!

Followed him just now - thanks