DRACON’S EYE

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

DRACON’S EYE

Page break.png
dracon_s_eye.jpg
Page break.png

THE INSPIRATION

The inspiration from "Dracon’s Eye" is derived directly from a friend of mine. In response to specific things in conversation at times, his gaze will shift and his eyes narrow in a way that penetrates directly to a person’s core self. One might as well drop all pretenses, he sees through them, says nothing, but you just know. He’s the kind of person that elicits a respectful approach and an awareness of certain sensitivities when in his company. The way he communicates with his eyes, has at times unsettled me, despite knowing him for years.

I created this piece of digital art completely through an intuitive process. It wasn’t until it was near completion that I became consciously aware of origin of the primary influence for "Dracon’s Eye". It was as if my friend was looking back at me with that penetrating gaze.
Page break.png

THE PROCESS

There were three macro photos of mine used in the creation of "Dracon’s Eye" and I used Photoshop for the entire process. I started with one photo as a base and small pieces of the other two photos, twelve layers in total. I also used brush tools to hand paint throughout to arrive at the completed image.
Page break.png
dracon_s_eye_photo_composite.jpg
Page break.png
When I create anything, I don’t document my process. This is because it mechanizes what I need to be a natural uninterrupted flow, effectively negating the experience of the creative process itself. This is always the situation for anything I create. The in-the-moment experience of creating is what matters most to me in the entire process. That is when I feel fully alive and free.

"Dracon’s Eye" will be minted into an edition of three. I created a GIF in MP4 format. The MP4 and a full size image of "Dracon’s Eye" are included as a downloadable with the purchase of each NFT.
Page break.png

Available for purchase on NFT Showroom:

DRACON'S EYE

Page break.png

All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera and 90mm Tamron Macro lens.

Sort:  

This is eye-catching, indeed ... beautiful and striking.

Thank you so much, I appreciate you checking out my post!

That caught my eye way far out in the feed. Damn that's cool.

An eye that caught your eye! 😁 Thank you, glad you found it cool. I'm new to making digital art, so the feedback is so helpful.

Well, I have a lot of experience with digital art. I haven't even shared much of my work here. Simply developed a style to go along with this name. You'll notice as you progress how you'll develop your own style. You'll learn something new with each piece. And I'll gladly support your work here, provided I'm around to see it. Just please continue down this road where your posts offer some substance as well. I see some just throw the image up, don't really say much, offer the link to the NFT, then they're gone, nowhere to be found. People follow artists, not art. I've been using my words to help draw attention to my art here for years. It really helps, a lot. The folks attempting the silent approach often stay invisible, unfortunately. So there's some advice.

Well that's some great feedback, thank you! I've been very unsure about what I could produce in terms of digital art.

I've started to notice this a little bit:

You'll notice as you progress how you'll develop your own style. You'll learn something new with each piece.

It's my intention to put together solid posts with meat on the bones, so to speak. I simply can't work any other way, or I'd be very unhappy with myself and what I've done. This is why I can't do a post every day, it takes longer to create something that I find worthy of posting. If it doesn't pass my critique, it's not good enough for me to post.

The silent approach isn't my way. I'm too interested in people, chatting, having fun and learning for that to happen. Thank you again. I really appreciate everything you've said here. It's most helpful. I enjoy reading comments, thoughts, feedback and whatever someone wants to write.

Nice scope.

I feel like a got a free seat to a sneak preview when you showed me these steps on discord. I've seen quite a bit of digital art on this platform the past four years and this is as good as anything I've seen.

Bravo young lady.

Yes, you get sneak preview privileges 😉, you've more than earned that!

Thank you @dandays! Digital art is all new to me. Really good to hear that it's measuring up. Thought I might have to stick with carvings and photos.

Stunning and scary. Love the details here.
Eye and more eyes. I love your play with colors as well.
I would be uncomfortable if anyone looked into my soul, but I guess if I loved that someone and trusted him enough I wouldn't mind baring my soul.

Thank you @sofs-su! It's not a comfortable feeling at all. I've adjusted over the years but still am unsettled at times, despite a great deal of trust.

Oh no its not a comfortable feeling at all. I bet it does unsettles you even now, and it shows in your art work 🤣 And I think its quite natural.

It does. It just unsettled me less than a week ago, LOL. It came out in that piece of art completely intuitively, which often happens when I'm creating art. Thank you.

Yip, whether it is writing, art or craft it certainly does show up. Even when you consciously try to avoid it.🤣 it creeps in without our knowledge.

You're so right on point! 🤣

Those penetrating eyes will make anyone's blood run cold. I remember you showing me a glimpse of this and I said that it reminds me of Christmas time 😂 because of the red and green color and the Grinch as well lol. Once again, you have done a great job. The creativity here is very strong and I look forward to what you have to share.

Yes, very much those red and green colours, although I wasn't thinking of the holiday colours when I made this.

Thank you @moon-city! I'm working on the next one that is part of that series.

Congratulations @nineclaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.
You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nineclaws.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This is eye-catching, indeed ... beautiful and striking.

Wow so detailed really reminds me of the YouTube video of the Petri dish Earth!

Hahaha! Thank you!

Thank you @hkwari, I appreciate the feedback on my writing. It's all new to me. It's a matter of practice and putting the effort in. I'm sure you can do that.