Moray's Mask -- Superrare tokenized artwork

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

Montay's Mask

It's been a little while since I've created a tokenized artwork, given I've been very distracted helping family, working and -- most importantly -- fooling around with my new Oculus Quest VR headset.

It's a lot of fun, and even if I still lack the skills to make the awesome VR pieces I see my fellow #superrare artists making, like Spaced Painter and MetageistVR.

I've made a couple small attempts using Tiltbrush, though they're relatively limited still.

I've also played some games, of course !

The most recent one was the inspiration for this piece: The Fisherman's Tale

inspiration might be a bit of a heavy word, as it was really just what I was thinking about while making the artwork ;)

1. Artbreeder

I decided it was time to make a new artbreeder-based piece again.

Based on pieces from a couple of others, combined and modified:

image.png

I created the base material for my artwork:

image.png

2. GIMP + G'MIC-qt plugin

I then did my usual routine, importing it into GIMP and seeing what happened if I applied some filters and/or symmetry manipulations to it:

gimp2.10_26jishqNKk.png

I went with a more subdued look, creating a window of darkness around the initial form

Then went on to look at the Kaleidoscope output, which immediately gave me this:

Hn3BrjrQLg.png

I then erased the sides using the Nudge tool, moving them off the screen (but not entirely... I felt like they could provide a touch of asymmetry to finish the piece off)

gimp2.10_YCiRMBiJqy.png

I didn't take any screenshots of the next step, but it mainly involved duplicating the near-finished piece and applying different filters to each (if memory serves, a hexagonal pattern, a reinforcement/ "Cartoon" filter to make the borders more crisp, and an Aural/Despair filter that subdued the entire color scheme)

gimp2.10_nJHdFwNh6i.png

This was pretty much the end, and after the patterns were merges using G'MIC-qt, I applied a slight Canvas texture to the artwork, and I felt the work was done on this one:

MontaysMask.png

I hope you like this very quick guide to the creation of this artwork, which now resides on Superrare.co

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Very cool piece, artbreeder algos just keep getting better and better it's kind of scary! I would love to try painting in VR it seems like quite a trip!

Congratulations @pbock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5250 replies. Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!