"'Fizzbanger' and My Recent NFT Showroom Acquisitions!" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

fizzbanger.jpg
[Crayon, wax pencil, and felt pen on reclaimed cardboard with some slight digital color-correction.]

The grandkid was over again for a bit today, so we drew more stuff! (There are a bunch of other pieces, but I haven't had a chance to photograph those yet, cuz I got stuck on a different project...)

So... I've been doing really well selling artwork, lately. (Well enough that I bought a bunch of new tunes AND art from various other peeps... Do the kids still say "peeps?" Maybe not... Maybe I'm just thinking of those marshmallows covered in colored sugar treats...) Here are a number of pieces that I've collected in my NFT Showroom vault over the last few weeks... (It's a VAULT in the sense that it's safe there---and I'm not selling!!!)

nfts - a.jpg

nfts - b.jpg

nfts - c.jpg

nfts - d.jpg

nfts - e.jpg

nfts - f.jpg

nfts - g.jpg

nfts - h.jpg

nfts - i.jpg

nfts - j.jpg

The images above come from my "Collection" on NFT Showroom, and they include works by the following folks:

@doze
@anafae
@stellabelle
@simbistuff
@justinparke
@pacolimited
@cetb2008
@kidsisters
@elgeko
@amphlux
@m1alsan
@ftrsaroth
@clayboyn
@xxxthorxxx
@tonalspace
@sergiomendes
@mathieuglitch
@mproxima
@badsexy
@artxmike
@fireawaymarmot
@alexkopareiko
@solymi

Great stuff! Thanks to all of these creators for making and sharing their pieces!!!

I saw a short article on Twitter today that made the claim that NFT artwork is a Ponzi scheme, and I didn't comment on the piece there (it was being responded to by more well-known lights than mine, so I stayed out of it.) I disagree (based on a documentary clip that I watched on the actual Ponzi schemer, one of the episodes of White Rabbit Project, which I enjoyed.)

The original business that Charles Ponzi was in was importing International Reply Coupons (a type of postage) from Europe to the U.S.A. What made the business fraudulent is that Ponzi was selling products that he didn't actually own yet. He used money from investors to order new I.R.C.s, but took more money in than he had product available to fulfill the orders. He LIED to investors, and he knowingly kept taking in more money even when he couldn't get more product.

That's just not what NFT / crypto art is about, at least not how I do it. I don't PRE-sell artwork... In fact, I don't even make art specifically to sell it. I create artwork because I HAVE TO, (it's a COMPULSION), and sometimes I decide to put a few of the pieces I make up for sale. I also don't buy for "INVESTMENT" purposes. I buy artwork that I like and plan to keep! (I also buy art from "Artists' Alley" at comic conventions and from galleries and from online stores. I particularly like postcards and small prints...and books...) Art is cool as hell. It tells stories. It sparks memories. It inspires my imagination! It's kinda my thing!

Okay! Go draw something and share it with me, or maybe give NFT Showroom a look and maybe spend a dollar or two tokenizing your pieces! Even if they don't sell right away, they'll be saved (via blockchain and IPFS) for people to experience for a LONG LOOOOOOONG time! Neat!!!

---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

Sort:  

Nice write-up. There are lots of varied reasons I do art as well, and I'm rarely driven by the thought of selling art. It cost me a bit of HIVE to mint that Hot Potato NFT and toss it out for free, in fact. But that was 1/3rd of the fun of it. Another 1/3rd was people actually playing Hot Potato with an NFT (probably never been done before) and the final 3rd was making an NFT with negative, but humorous, value.

That's a reason I like to write up a blog about most of the NFT artwork I do and bake it into the art description. If I'm releasing here on a HIVE blockchain backend, it only makes sense to pair the NFT with a post about why I made it. Even if it is short. I love the story behind things.

Nice review, thanks.
I think all this NFT is a novel way of relations. Maybe minting is a stamp of an NFT creators' view. And any transaction is to agree with.

I like it! That's a good way to put it!!!

Yeih, I've sold a lot this week, too. The NFT-world goes crazy and more and more collectors and artists come to NFT-Showroom! I have to paint some more silly alien pictures, they're all sold out now!

All sold out! That's a cool feeling!!!

Thank you for mentioned me. I can't wait to make more art to sell NFT.

Greetings beautiful art collection, thank you for supporting my art.

Truly honored to see some family pieces in this collection. I think you have your eyes on the future of the blockchain with NFT collecting, and especially, reselling. !wine


Congratulations, @justinparke You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @richardfyates.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24375.125 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.290 HIVE

thanks so much for buying my artwork! i've been enjoying collecting yours as well! that steem one has a lot of significance. HODL THAT! MAYBE IT WILL BE A 10 ETH ONE in the future! lol

Yep! It's a keeper for sure!

I'm with you, I like to draw for sake of drawing or better I like to do thing regardless of monetization but facing real world and knowing the struggle on the economy side of things of friends that would love to live with enough time or doing art as their main daily activity. Nfts feels like a new experiment to lower the entry bar for everyone and to me that isn't to detriement of the infinite ceiling that an artist can reach.
Thank you for collecting my piece, it's very dear to me :D

Congratulations @richardfyates! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP