UNLEASHED SPIRIT OF CARNIVAL

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)

“Surrealism is destructive,
but it destroys only what it considers to be shackles limiting our vision.”

Salvador Dali


P1000808-WARM FILTER.jpg
UNLEASHED SPIRIT OF CARNIVAL
india ink, white highlights on toned paper 21x30 cm - 2014

What made me think about this piece again that has actually not been published other than in my work inventory on Flickr, was a conversation with some Hive friends on my previous post. For one, @castleberry urged me to post more in Alien Art, so what could be more alien than this piece? I would be at a loss to explain what went on in my head when I created this, just wildly meandering all over the paper. Titles come to me after some time only after I recover from the excitement of my trip into my Inner Universe. The artwork is not some recreation of me tripping, but the creation of it is the actual trip.

The other conversation I had was with @donnadavisart regarding 'getting lost' in the story:

I agree about time and art @thermoplastic and often I find myself starting something, even just adding color to an older illustration, and I get lost in the 'story' of it all and make various iterations as the world unfolds before me and before you know it the sun has moved across your desk and it's been half a day. We get a special relationship with Time, we artists, we are lucky in that I think.

To which I replied:

Thank you Donna - that is exactly it. On top of it all, I got quite a few unfinished pieces around that I pick up from time to time. I remember seeing some older (and then newer) Dali books and noticed that he changed and/or added to his paintings over time. I cannot find this quote anymore, but I had repeated it before: "A painting is never done until sold". Maybe it goes back to Da Vinci (with a little twist). Like, once you sold it, you can't monkey around with it anymore. But in my past, I had sold a large drawing, and then I missed it and also had more ideas about it, that I did it as a painting.

Mentioning Dali brought me to the quote by him with which I started this blog. I was inspired by Dali in my early days. That quote fit perfectly with my drawing.

That a curator for the largest private collection of Fantastic Art in Austria had picked this piece out to be included in a 3-Person exhibition was a surprise, since I had not even presented it to her on the initial visit to my studio. To this day it is not on any of my sites (other than Flickr). Maybe I should correct this - I actually don't do many drawings with ink, since the bulk of my drawings are either graphite or charcoal.

Back in 2019, in the days before Hive, I posted about this exhibition - apparently it did not get much attention back then on Steemit.

MY ARTWORK IN THE CHRISTMAS EXHIBITION - INFELD CULTURE CENTER 2019

On Flickr, I got the album about this event, here are 2 views of the placement among my drawings:

IMG_5933.JPG

IMG_5935.JPG

The day after the opening (I stayed for the weekend, since it was customary for the participating artists to be served lunch the following day), my friend @siamcat came to visit - as it turned out, one of her last appearances before 'disappearing' from the blockchain and all social life presence. I have not seen her since then.

DE ES 78746797_3143422609006317_1366568506648166400_n.jpg

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHhwdeMuUhXxuMJiv1DKLuwAu2wmPdSQLVeJjmLqyXRoF3sjkpBD2T77KeCTBNkcguN9583pimnL2mT3aQsUyxG6VnQm9rHJ8TNZFpcLqbFgWfUykxwgPS.jpg
prior to putting the show together,
@siamcat visited me in my studio at the Kunstquartier Wien
she then promised to see my exhibition, and she kept her word.

WhatsApp Image 2019-12-02 at 23.36.58 (1)_InPixio.jpg


So this became a trip down memory lane - from remembering one small drawing, and all the circumstances around it. Prior to the exhibition, this piece had resided in the deepest recesses of my studio and not seen the light of day for 5 years since I created it.

~~~ embed:1515289203084603397?s=20&t=Gkll35KPABjIev5TDhdADw twitter metadata:QXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWMvc3RhdHVzLzE1MTUyODkyMDMwODQ2MDMzOTd8 ~~~



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

13122819_875562545923591_2724879621137156873_o-crp500sm.jpg
at the Fuchs Villa in Vienna

If you find this useful, please repost!
MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.

Sort:  

Was just thinking . "I need to be inspired so I will see what Otto Rapp is doing lately. Never a wrong move

I do really love how Hive (and once Steem) is/was a platform for we artists to both share our work and also share our experiences of how and why we work.

I love when comments give us pause and let us consider things in general. I wish I could engage more on here, but for some reason the layout of Hive makes me feel as if I'm trying to play catch up with everyone and sometimes I feel, at the end of the day, that I've either missed someone or someone fell through the cracks.

But, then, online life is devoid of time so usually I find someone again or they 'pop' up, I hope your friend returns to online life and surprises you with a happy new comment.

That show looked a fun one to hang and I'm glad your friend was able to attend that as well, since she's gone from the virtual world.

~~~ embed:1515104407523840001?s=20&t=y71uIPtx4gwXQkWLdDrI3Q twitter metadata:dmlzaW9uYXJ5YXJ0Y29tfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL3Zpc2lvbmFyeWFydGNvbS9zdGF0dXMvMTUxNTEwNDQwNzUyMzg0MDAwMXw= ~~~


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

~~~ embed:1515289203084603397?s=20&t=Gkll35KPABjIev5TDhdADw twitter metadata:QXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWMvc3RhdHVzLzE1MTUyODkyMDMwODQ2MDMzOTd8 ~~~

I agree, it is a very alien piece!! And a very complex and beautiful one!

Was hälts Du eigentlich von Nitsch? Ist mir ein komplettes Rätsel, warum der so gehypt wurde, aber ich bin halt kein "Experte".