"Have you finished your book?" asked my 6 year old niece

Today, at the end of the morning, I discovered three missed calls from my twin sister. Then my phone rang for the fourth time...

It was a video call and not my sister but my 8 year old nephew, Miko. He talked with me for a bit and then his 6 year old sister took over, telling him repeatedly that it was now his turn to clean up, as she had done enough.

She is quite the dominant type so he let her talk.

They talked with me for quite a while, took me on a tour on their land and showed me some tricks on their trampoline.

I took a screenshot of Yumi standing on her head against the trampoline net, doing something close to a split.

FYI: I am renting a house 5,5 km away from them, since December 2020, but right now I am 2000+ kms away, in The Netherlands, so it was nice to see them and their amazing 1 hectare garden, that I know so well, again.

It was a fun conversation and when my mom joined in on the video call we got another tour of the house and especially their bedroom.

What stood out from this call though for me was a question that my niece posed twice:

"Heb je al een nieuw boek?"

which translates to:

"Have you finished another book (yet)?"

Now when your 6 year old niece asks you if you've already finished your book you know that the pressure is on.

So today I felt a strong urge to start focusing on my book and its illustrations, once again. A feeling that had been building up, as of late but I just wasn't able to focus and find the right head space, mainly due to being at my parents' house ( helping out my mom ) with a sick father.

This afternoon, I decided to go into the city, bringing along some illustrations and a print of the latest draft of my book. I also bought some coloring pastels.

I walked over to the library of Gouda that is more like a meeting space / cafe-restaurant these days. I ordered a ginger mint tea and some cake, put on my headphones and started editing my book and later turned to the more fun part: drawing and coloring.

Added to this post you see the result of this session ( that is, of the drawing and coloring part), showing Hypersensitivosaurus in thinking poses, twice ( based on "the thinker" by Rodin ) and your favorite dino waking up, bathing in sweat, from what he hopes is a nightmare.

Especially while coloring with my new pastels I felt pretty much in a flow. It's about time to focus more on my creativity, once again and I thank my niece for reminding me of that. Who know, I might even finish a book during my stay in The Netherlands ;^)

Sort:  

He looks like he's about to kick arse in that second last pic XD

I feel you with the pressure, I have had a couple of kids from my son's gym class tell me they can't wait to see my animation series and I haven't even finished building yet aaaaahhhhhhhh x_x

You better get crackalackin on it while they're still young enough to read to ;D

no pressure lol they'll probably still enjoy the bragging rights of having early access when you're famous ;D

There is nothing quite like a kid piling on the pressure! :OD

This girl sure knows how to ask big questions, when she isn't asking for ice cream or other sweet stuff.

Oh how they love the sweet stuff!!!

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.