You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Most of me is with you: A letter home

in Galenkp's Stuff8 months ago

Damn. Sam. That is some powerful writing. Really, really well done.

First the disclaimer: Just because I can't (or won't) write doesn't mean I don't read and enjoy good writing. Just sayin'

The absolute first thing I thought of was Warren Zevon's last song. Keep Me In Your Heart for Awhile. That, of course, is about dying, his dying, and yours is so much about living and being alive.

Makes me wonder. Is a front line deployment like practice dying? Do you have to carry that with you at all times and places? Is this how you manage that inner conflict?

Jeeze. I really didn't mean to go all heavy on this, I really just wanted to thank you for a terrific piece of writing.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Hi Tom, thanks for your comments, I appreciate it. There's a lot to unpack in this one I guess and some will see more in it than others, clearly you do.

If you ask any soldier who has seen combat you'll get different responses to how it's handled when in-country, we're all different humans I guess. Some make going home the motivation and some work on the premise they're already dead and there's everything in between I guess. Whatever works for the individual over and above the training that comes along...sometimes good and less good. It's a complex thing I guess, like humans.

I'm glad you liked this one; I left a lot of thoughts and words out, but put a lot in there too, so am pleased to hear it read well.