You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculated risks

in Galenkp's Stuff11 months ago

It's definitely a risk. You can go to the big name places and know that the food is probably going to be consistent, but then again, finding the new local places is part of the fun of traveling and I would prefer to do that. We had an occasion recently that I blogged about where we tried a local place and it blew up in our faces. It had so much potential, but unfortunately, the poor service ruined it for us. My wife and I tend to find ourselves always going back to the same three places or so on the rare occasion we eat out while we are at home.

Sort:  

You sound like me, happy to find new places when travelling but stick to the good old favourites when home. We don't go out to eat as much as we used to so are reluctant to get surprised with a bad experience. It happens though. I'm off to a pub in the Barossa Valley on Sunday for lunch, a small town called Lyndoch, not far from where I was born and raised...I've actually not been there so fingers crossed that it's legit and not leshit.

Best of luck with that! My wife and I are meeting my sister who recently moved back to the area and her husband at a place tonight for dinner. It's a place we have visited in the past, so I think it should be pretty decent. Next weekend when we are camping we are going to try some new spots. We usually just make our own food at the campground though.

I've heard it's good, food-wise, the atmosphere is a mystery though. I'm sure we'll make it right though, add the right atmosphere if it's not there already. 😉

Camping food...I love it and am pretty good at it to be honest. Good luck with those new sites.

I agree on the atmosphere I hate places that are so loud you have to scream to carry on a conversation. No matter how good the food is.