You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still climbing

It has been 2 days since this publication and I come to give my opinion.
Sometimes I think if that is for countries like Australia what will be left for Venezuela?
Some time ago you advertised the high cost of living, which was starting with the transportation problems, this was going to affect the cost of goods and food. It seemed incredible to me that other countries were also facing this type of situation.

Sort:  

Sorry, I missed this comment earlier. No excuses.

I know what you mean. Most here have no clue how bad things are in V and, in fact, no clue how bad things are here (or will get) either.

Almost everything is more costly now than it was a year ago and it's accelerating. The cost of transport is one element (I'll give you points for remembering that post I did) and that will exert pressure on everything else; ultimately, the consumer pays. The government gives handouts as if its made of money and less people want to work because of it.

Just for perspective, an unemployed (single person) gets $670AUD every fortnight (two weeks) from the government for doing nothing. Why would a person work? Of course, the average annual salary in Australia is $90,800 AUD (USD $60,355) so those on unemployment earn far less and live a lot differently, but when compared to what some in Venezuela live on it's a lot.

It's all relative I guess, but either way we look at it, costs are going up and incomes are not keeping up with inflation. I think things will get very bad before (and if) they get any better.