You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick comment concept [QCC9] - Win stuff for a comment

in Galenkp's Stuff4 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240203_173812.JPG

This is smoke, toxic smoke that we sometimes breathe here because of the proximity to one of the largest landfills in Havana. It's like a huge coal oven, but the difference is that this one never goes out and the garbage dumped there is already reaching a height of... I think... 2 kilometers.

Sort:  

A good picture, but not a good reason for it to look like this I guess...I'm sorry it's dealt with in this manner and the residents suffer the adverse effects.

I went there on my bike and plan to take more pictures of that place this coming week. But I must not go there alone. Lots of weird people in that place, taking stuff out of the dump and even living there in conditions you can't even imagine.
It's a big pollution hotspot. If you do a little research you'll see what these kind of 3rd world landfills release into the environment.
I will donate these to Saraleo for her Tuesday Yoga initiative. Thank you, G.

I've seen some documentaries on the people who live near and rely on those dumps/landfills. Rather tragic. It's best you don't go there along for sure.

I will take care of myself. You can't waste a piece of nani like that.

Yeek, that's awful! But a great shot!

Thanks... let's see if I get to go there. It will look even better there and it will be with my camera as I did this one with my cell phone.