5-Minute Freewrite: Spring Chicken

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

It's been slightly over two years since the prolonged lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and that's how long me and my siblings have not met with our parents physically. For one, we live in different states hence flying has been an issue.

When I get homesick, one of the dishes I find comfort in is one that my ma often cooked when we were little, the chicken adobo. It's a Pinoy braised chicken dish. I can never really replicate the taste entirely yet, but cooking it eases the longings for my parents.

I especially love chicken adobo with a plate of hot steaming rice and a sunny side up, that itself is the ultimate winner. The juicy meat especially from the thighs and drumsticks of the spring chicken, the aromatic and savory sauce from the dish coupled with the added vegetables and runny egg yolk are hearty and inviting. Many would choose to cook the chicken adobo sans vegetables, but my ma adds in carrots and potatoes to the dish to make it more hearty and also so that her children eat more veggies! You're right, she's a smart woman. You can smell the beautiful hint of bay leaf, peppercorn and garlic and a slight tang from the savory braised soy sauce due to the addition of vinegar in the dish. Just writing about it makes me salivate.


image.jpeg
Image taken from eatingwell.com

Trust me, eating it with hot steaming rice is the way to go.

With Chinese New Year around the corner, I might just add this dish into the reunion dinner. That way, I get to share my taste of home with my little family and anticipate the day of reuniting with my parents as well.

Sort:  

Hi alimamasstory,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much @curie! ❤️

Ohhhh that looks delicious and the fact I only shocken I might go and visit eatingwell.com
And covid ruiend a lot of family visits so I hope that will be possible in a safe way soon.
And yes almost Chinese New Year 🧧
Have a great day dear

Thanks, looking forward to be reuniting with my parents later this year. Hopefully things will ease up and the numbers go down. Have a great year!