Mountain Climbing | A 5-Minute FreeWrite Childhood Memory

in Freewriters3 years ago

Mountain Climbing

When it's summer holidays or Sundays, my friend would promptly wake me up at 7 in the morning to go mountain climbing. If I didn't feel like waking up, my father would convince (or force) me to wake up, saying it's a good habit to go on excursions. Even though I wake up begrudgingly, my primal instincts would stir me up with excitement. We take different paths every time, go to the summit, and look down on the town and its feeble citizens. I don't remember all the time we spent there. But we made some good memories, albeit at some cost.

One morning, we went climbing the mountain again. When we reached the middle of the climb, we thought we could dare a little bit to go between two boulders. They were on the edge of the hill. My friends were a bit more athletic, and they could jump a bit more than me. We were three guys, and I was in the middle. Probably to watch me over.

It just happened we were stuck on a rock with a huge boulder, leaving no room to move. We had to crouch and move forward. When we reached the end of the current rock, we had two possible choices of action. One was to jump over to another boulder. Or to slip through a wide crack downwards with more than 2-3 meters down. My friend ahead of me jumped to the other rock safely. Now I had to make a choice. I chose to jump. But improperly. I luckily had some grip to hold and was petrified to climb up. I wasn't willing to jump down, for if I took one look down, I would get shivers all over my spine. I was making prayers. My family flashed in my head. I wished my friends to stay away from trouble if anything were to happen to me.

Then my friends were making some decisions. One decided that he would catch me if I could loosen my grip and slowly fell. I could have taken the time to make the decision. But in that situation, a mere second looked like a long time. Finally, I agreed to fall. My friend barely caught me. Three were some dried plants that stopped my momentum. I did not tumble further, luckily. My friend followed the same, but he made it without any drama. We reached a safe spot and were reliving the thrill that we just experienced.

A snake came out between my legs and crawled towards another rock past my friend's legs. It just took one second to expire. We stopped our conversation and started downhill. We didn't stop for anything, dint talk until we were safe from the mountains. Both the events took place in one day. We talk about that every time we meet again. It was one hell of an experience.

Sort:  

That's a great story! Sounds like a cool adventure! I think a bit of risk every now and then is good for a person.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @azarmadr3.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more