ALONE IN THE DARK- A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUodgFVzaJpLatg2rKkL12dQKRs9zM7H4Qryxay2DC7gV5pUiSGgA7n5mrnUsfJR78b3HCDiXjYDTT6r2yMQAmvgRAFffeNHuAdSTG9fBDBKdZe8xn.png

WHAT I SEE
I see a young man holding a torchlight, I see a dilapidated chair, I also see a wall with peeling paint and a black pillar.

WHAT I FEEL
I feel curiosity, and the thrill of a search.

ALONE IN THE DARK

My plan was to kick my feet up on the stool, relax on my worn-out couch and binge-watch Netflix. It was my day off work, and my family had gone over to my in-law’s. so I had the night to myself. That was th good thing about being alone and having Netflix. No interruptions.

Or so I thought. I was just about to begin my movie when I heard the dogs barking.

I let out a curse, pausing to see if they would stop. They didn’t. They went on barking as though they were mad at something. I knew then that if they could bark for this long nonstop, something had to be spooking them.

With a reluctant sigh, I got up from my comfortable couch and walked to the shelf where I took my torch. On my way out, I took my blue shirt and wear it, hastily buttoning it as I kick my door shut.

“These dogs better have a good reason for this.” I muttered angrily as I turned on the torch. Then I began to walk round the house towards the kennel.

The walls were painted white, but it had dulled with age. Most of it had peeled off, with the lower part of the walls already without paint. I walked past the creaky chair resting against the wall and the perpetually locked window. And I kept my distance, making sure my shirt didn’t brush the dirty pipes sticking out of the wall.

At the kennel, the dogs were still barking furiously at something just a couple feet away from their reach. The close proximity and their inability to get to it was the cause of their fury.

I swept the beam of my torch over the ground and found a snake. It was a medium sized python, not so thick and long. It slithered leisurely as though taunting the dogs. Unconcerned about their barking. After all, they were in their kennel.

Snakes were not uncommon in these parts, but most of the time, they were pretty much harmless. Just like this python, it only seemed to be deriving joy in getting my dogs mad.

But I couldn’t stand for that, I had Netflix waiting for me in the comfort of my living room.

I picked a stick and was about to throw it at the reptile when it began to slide away. Of it’s own accord. I guess the bright glare of my torch had scared it off.

And as it vanished from view, the dogs quietened once more. And calm was restored.

I studied them, they looked back at me expectantly. It was then I remembered I had forgotten to release them for the night.

I did that at once.

“Now, please let me see my movie in peace.” I told them as I walked back into the house, torch in my hand.

THE END.

A special thanks to @freewritehouse and @mariannewest and others responsible for providing this opportunity to budding writers like me.

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour