You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leaves carpet the land, leaving the trees behind | 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: carpet

in Freewriters2 years ago

FOUR brothers.... ohhhh that is hard.... and all in their 20s. I'm so sorry!!
My mom and yours - trust in God and heaven!
Beautiful words: "Sometimes God reaches down and picks the flowers."
Thank you for your kind words!

Sort:  

Thank you, I lost the last one in 1995 and none of them had ever married or had children. I have one brother left he is the only one who married and had kids.
I was hoping that my mother's words would bring you some comfort as they did for me.

None married, none contributed to the gene pool before they departed this earth - {{ sad! }}
Currently reading a book explaining Buddhism, having just read a few core ideas of Hinduism, and I'm reminded of something I learned at 17 in Religions of the World: for the most part, the message is the same. Be kind. Do good deeds. Detach from material things; even detach from all concerns of the ego; take care of your body and your peace of mind; do not fear death; etc.
The elderly, as death looms, will often start seeing people who died. It would be easy to write it off as just another delusion of dementia. But then, why don't they hallucinate their son who lives a thousand miles away? Their daughter who has been in Germany for decades, his neighbors, anyone who is still above ground and still breathing. No. They see those who've died. Along with any number of YouTube videos from people who survived the no-pulse, no brain activity (call it dead, or not) - I have hope that maybe we really DO meet again on the other side!
I cannot imagine losing four outta five brothers. God bless you!

why don't they hallucinate their son who lives a thousand miles away? This is a very good question, it really gets me thinking. I do not fear death, I fear losing the ones that are here with me and them losing me. I have one granddaughter who calls me a dragon, I asked her why and she said because dragons live forever.

What a great line from a granddaughter!!!
I sometimes flirt with death, thinking of that Emily Dickinson poem.

Because I could not stop for Death –
He kindly stopped for me –
The Carriage held but just Ourselves –
And Immortality.

We slowly drove – He knew no haste
And I had put away
My labor and my leisure too,
For His Civility –

(Too often, I think everyone would be better off without me. I know, I know....
Gotta be more of a dragon, and keep fighting, no matter how often I feel vanquished!)

Yes, be a dragon. The world needs more dragons, never give up. Live, Laugh and Love.