Gifts of Winter Solstice. Poems about giving and survival.

To my friends,

As we approach the Winter solstice, I find myself reflecting on all that has happened in the past year. We've seen so much pain and suffering caused by man, both within our own country and abroad. But despite all this darkness, there have been moments of light too – moments when we've come together to help others, or when someone has shown us kindness.

So as we celebrate the shortest day of the year, let's remember that there is always hope – even in the darkest times. And most importantly, never lose sight of what matters most: each other.

Leaves Rustle

Red and orange leaves rustle in the winter wind,
glimmering under a waning moon.
I make gifts by hand, using found materials I find in the crumbling city:
scraps of wax for candles, wire for hangers, and scraps of fabric for bows.
I wrap them carefully in paper from old magazines or newspapers.
My friends will get something special this year--something made with love,
something that reminds us that hope still lingers despite all the darkness.

Litter to Gifts.

In the city, all is lost and dying.
The shops are boarded up and the streets are littered with trash.
But in the darkness, there is still beauty to be found.
I craft hand-made gifts for my friends in the ruins of our city.
Each one is unique, made with love and care, and meant to bring joy during the bleakest time of year.
I find beauty in the old, discarded objects I use to make my gifts.
The city is crumbling, but in its decay, I find hope for a better future.
It is through making these small gestures of love that I can keep my friends close during this time of darkness.

Comrades in the storm

What a dark and dismal day,
to spend alone with one's thoughts,
in the cold and barren days of winter.
But to brighten up the dreary hours,
is what friends are for: together we make merry.
To share in each other's laughter and cheer,
is what brings us together as comrades.
And so it is that on this bleak night,
we give our warmest regards to all our friends;
gifts woven with care and love.

A Tradition of Winter Solstice

Winter solstice,
A time to cherish friends and family,
To give hand crafted gifts that say
"I love you,"
And to celebrate the life we've been given.

Each gift you give will be unique,
Unique in its own way,
For everyone is different and has their own story.

No two gifts will be the same,
Because each one is made just for them.

Gift giving is a tradition,
And one that we should all keep alive.

So, on this special day,
Make some time for yourself,
And give something special to someone you care about.




This was a poetic tale from the city of Lazarus, A dystopian metropolis half sunken in the sea, along with ai art created with stable diffusion / Midjourney ai browser applications, inspired by the words of the poem. War and climate change took its toll on this and every other city we know. This is one of many short tales of a young woman ("the narrator") and her daily life surviving in the ruble of the modern world.
I am adding individual poems to a collection that I plan on eventually publishing into an ebook.

Thank you for reading.

💔Here are a few links to some of the other poems about the dystopian City of Lazarus: