What will I find?

As I peer through the shattered glass,
I hope to find a way out.
But all I see are shelves of rusted cans,
And piles of garbage that overflow.
What kind of supplies will I find?
I have no idea.
But I'll take anything that will help me survive,
Even if it's just a can of food.

I'll build a shelter from the rubble,
And spend my days exploring this forsaken place.
I'll find water and shelter,
If only I can find them.
But even if I don't find supplies,
I'll still be alive.
For now, that's all that matters.



This was a poetic tale from the city of Lazarus, A dystopian metropolis half sunken in the sea, along with ai art created with stable diffusion / Midjourney ai browser applications, inspired by the words of the poem. War and climate change took its toll on this and every other city we know. This is one of many short tales of a young woman ("the narrator") and her daily life surviving in the ruble of the modern world.
I am adding individual poems to a collection that I plan on eventually publishing into an ebook.

Thank you for reading.

💔Here are a few links to some of the other poems about the dystopian City of Lazarus: