Chain

in Freewriters4 years ago

It has been a while I have not stopped by to take part in the 5-minute free writing challenge. Here is my contribution to today's prompt

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

D: I know it sounds like I do not want you to get close to me when I speak, but I do. That is all I am asking you to do.

M: The sounds you make are so scary and threatening usually, they make me intentionally walk around your place so that I do not get startled.

D: Yet you came today and something is opening in our communication. I am finding it hard to breathe, and the only way to get this message out is through the voice that scares you away.

M: Is it because you are desperately trying to tell us to come closer and not treat you with distance and fear?

D: Yes. It is also my way of letting you know that this around me seems to be my territory and that though you might be stepping onto it, you are welcome.

M: It looks dirty and cold alone here for you.

Dog: It is, and the more I bark, the shorter this chain seems to get, the harder it is to breathe sometimes.

Me: It's funny how I used to think of you as dangerous and felt like keeping away.

Dog: I guess the sign on the front gate does not help either.

Me: I did not realize you could read...

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Thoughts that go through my mind when I pass by the beautiful, scared, black dog. He is chained in an empty room by the little house at the end of the village. I pass him by on our hikes that connect several villages around here. My husband stops and pets him.

Sort:  

Congratulations @corinasskills! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors