Lemongrass

in Freewriters4 years ago

Man 1: Where can we get a drink over here?

He looked like he was part of a bigger group, and it was true, more people started appearing from behind the church. This happened as I was sitting on the empty terrace of the only restaurant in this village. I had come here to use their generous wifi connection and work in peace.

Me: It's closed until Thursday (I said this in Portuguese and in this language, Thursday is the 5th day of the week).

So the man looked at his watch and said 'I have to wait another 45 minutes.'

Me: No, I mean this place is closed for another 3 days.

We then realized we could communicate in Spanish, a language we both seemed to master. More people arrived from behind the church. They all had that glow that you get after a long day of hiking through beautiful nature, with a group you appreciate.

Man 2: Do you work here, then?

Me: I am working here now, but no, I don't work for this restaurant.

Man 2: But you now live here? What an idea! What else is there besides this place that is closed?

Me: There is the communal fountain by my house...but all you can have there is water.

Woman 1: You said there was wifi here.

Me: Yes

Woman 1: What is the password?

me: lemongrass