Day 1420: 5 Minute Freewrite CONTINUATION: Friday - Prompt: tornado

in Freewriters3 years ago

Image by jplenio from Pixabay

tornado-3189351_1920.jpg

“So, Pop-Pop, tell me this: if you weren't a billionaire, how much would there be left of you?”

Thomas Stepforth Sr. was knotting his tie, and his miniature – thousandaire grand-mogul Vertran Stepforth – had come to get all up under him as usual.

Mr. Stepforth smiled … Vertran was just like he had been at that same age, all up under his old father Theodore, trying to soak up everything that made for a wise and powerful man that had nothing to do with money.

“That's exactly a really good question, Vertran,” he said. “I thank God I have a good answer, because, frankly, a lot of people don't.”

“I just found that out today,” Vertran said. “A lot of people are losing things because of the pandemic, and they are … well, they are … .”

“Losing themselves on purpose,” Mr. Stepforth said, and his grandson sighed from relief.

“I know what the word is,” Vertran said, “but what you said covers the concept.”

Vertran was nine, and already reading on a college level, so “suicide” and “concept” were well within his vocabulary.

“Did I tell you about how I saw a tornado across the street from me this year?” Mr. Stepforth said.

“When? Where? How did I miss that?” Vertran said.

“Oh, not here – when I was dating your grandma in Maryland.”

“Oh – okay!”

Vertran paused.

“I've always loved Grandma,” he said, “and although I wasn't born when y'all were together, I approve your getting back together, because I think we are all going to enjoy life so much more together.”

“Thank you for your support, Vertran,” Mr. Stepforth said. “I think that you are right. Anyway, about this tornado – it destroyed my car.”

“Yikes.”

“But you know what I was thinking about?”

“What?”

“I was glad your grandmother and I weren't in it, because when the car was taken away, we remained.”

Vertran considered this, and his grandfather grinned as the light came on in his head.

“Oh, okay … money is just a thing, just a vehicle.”

“Exactly, grandson. So, you're a thousandaire now, the first of your generation to have five-figure money just in the bank from your own creativity. That money will drive you to college, film school, a trade, wherever, but the important thing is, it's just money. It's just a vehicle. Don't make the vehicle your main source of pride and joy in life – or even get caught up driving the vehicle. I did, once upon a time. It cost me everything.”

“Really?”

“You're nine. You cannot remember your grandmother and I being together because we divorced almost 11 years ago.”

Vertran found a seat and sat down.

“Oh … yeah, when you lose Grandma, you pretty much have lost everything.”

“Drove myself right off the cliff, Vertran, getting to billionaire. Pretty car. No Grandma in it. Don't make my mistake.

“But see, God is good. When you repent, He will give you another chance at life, by grace. Now I know better, Vertran. I've got three cars, if you will, and the fourth is being built … but those are vehicles. The main thing is, my relationship with God is back where it needs to be. That's number 1. If you have that, you have everything, because He will guide you to fix up anything that can be fixed – so, once I got that straight, then I could go get things straight with Grandma and your aunts, keep things straight with your dad, and have time before a date to talk to you or any of my grandchildren who might have need.”

Vertran got up and gave his grandfather a big hug, which Mr. Stepforth knelt down and returned.

“Thank you for teaching me how not to drive off the road as a thousandaire, Pop-Pop.”

“Any time, Vertran. After all, getting the right skills and understanding when you have just five-figure money is going to be a whole lot easier than have to call for accident repair with ten-figure money. Believe that, grandson!”

Sort:  

That was the greatest example of teaching a child that there are more important things than money. As always beautifully done.

Thank you for reading ... these are the kinds of lessons I do my best to teach real children and youth, as often as I get the chance ... Vertran is the ideal in terms of wanting to learn and actually being receptive, but he is also not far from reality in that the younger we begin telling children the truth, the better it is.

Amen, the world needs more people like you.

The Lord is growing what we need ... I have a LOT of young people I have influence on ... and you know, one Hive post at a time ...

Keep up the good work

Beautiful lesson to be learned @deeanndmathews,thank you for sharing your well written story. Go well.

Thank you for reading, and, you're welcome!