Day 1662: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: end of story

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

Image by jan mesaros from Pixabay

book-550401_1920.jpg

Robert Edward Ludlow III, five years old, vaguely remembered his father, Robert Edward Ludlow Jr., but the memory was fading fast because he had already lived two years in the custody of his grandfather and soul double, Robert Edward Ludlow Sr.

“It's really sad what Dad and Mom chose to do in not stopping drugs from doing them in,” his eldest sister 11-year-old Eleanor often said to his elder sister eight-year-old Edwina, “but, I just think that Papa and Grandma were really meant to be our parents all along, because they really are so much better at it.”

Edwina was still struggling to accept this, but Lil' Robert was having no difficulties because he was so much younger and completely forward looking, and also knew that he was his grandfather's soul double although his brain could not formulate that.

“We're here and that's that and that's just how it's supposed to be,” he said to slightly elder cousin (but soon to be adopted brother) six-year-old Grayson about it. “End of story.”

Mrs. Ludlow had to go to the next room and scream from laughter because Lil' Robert's already booming alto and attitude was just the miniature of what his basso profundo grandfather had just said to a fussing veteran of lower rank from the porch about the whole Covid-19 situation.

Capt. Ludlow came from checking in with the workmen who were fixing up the back porch with a confused smile.

“I'm sorry,” he said as he looked around. “I thought I heard an echo in here.”

“Of course you did,” Lil' Robert said. “I'm your echo!”

And he was.

“I ache every day for my lost Robert,” the captain said later to Mrs. Ludlow, “but I was in military service and so could not raise him, and so that contributed to his unhappiness and his loss to himself. But then there is the Robert I was meant to raise … and there is no doubt that I need to raise him because he is way, way too much like me for him to make it if I don't!”

Mrs. Ludlow chuckled.

“I mean he even had your posture down when you are just done talking to people that just aren't even trying to get it,” she said, “and he just bottomed out his voice and we can hear that he too will someday have a voice like yours. He's your echo, he really is.”

“Which is why I have to live a holy life,” the captain said. “Robert Edward Ludlow 3.0, Echo Edition – Lord, they will be hearing my name and my voice to the end of the 21st and maybe into the 22nd century, so I have got to make sure what is echoed is right!”

“Yep,” Mrs. Ludlow said. “End of story!”