Bless me Father

IMG_20180911_163424903 (1).jpg

I'm sorry to disturb you headmaster, I mean Father Bertie, but I'm at me wit's end.
Homeschooling? Homeschooling me arse, Father! What medication was I on the day I agreed to that one? It's bone tired I am. I mean I was even considering leaving them on the bus and hoping they didn’t know the way home, but I’m sure me bloody husband has drummed the address into them, suspecting that one day that option would occur to me.

And in answer to your question Father, it was all the hubby’s fault. It’s the latest thing he told me. All the best parents are doing it, he said, as we trudged around Mothercare one Saturday afternoon. Expecting me second I was then, with the first due to start school, thank God.
He deliberately said it within hearing range of Mrs. Stepford wife. Mrs. I can have a job, homeschool, and look like Barbie, all whilst learning 3 oriental languages.

Yeah yeah, there she was standing behind the maternity bra counter, itching to get in on the conversation and give me the benefit of her oh-so-extensive experience, and just to head her off at the pass I heard some other version of meself agreeing that of course I would 100% be homeschooling, no bloody doubt about it. I mean who doesn’t want to be in with the in-crowd? Be one of the best parents?
That wasn't my plan of course. I was shipping the little blighters off to boarding school ASAP. I mean you wouldn’t want to be putting teachers out of jobs, now, would you? But there was no escape once little Ms loudmouth knew about it. Sure she had me signed up to the Homeschoolers Sodality so fast you'd think she was on commission.

So here I am Father Bertie, 6 years and three kids later, wrinkled lined, and flabby, a broken woman, beseeching you Father to please help me get these bloody kids enrolled in school.
.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-

Posted in response to @mariannewest's five-minute freewrite
The prompt is 'bone tired'
The image is my own

Sort:  

This is a funny thing to read because I'm considering homeschooling my lot... but I really just don't know if I have it in me. This felt like a version of an idea I've pushed around a lot lately. The fight of being 'the right' mother (whatever in the heck that even means) vs. a sense of self preservation. It isn't talked about enough, how women can completely disappear into motherhood. Powerful piece with a dose of humor, loved it! 💚

When I think of what I went through in school I wouldn't sentence any child to it, but perhaps your experience was more positive. That said, you'd need a bucketload of patience and even more self-discipline.
Could you see yourself making cupcakes for the Homeschooler's Sodality?🙃

Just do it, they'll thank you!

Virtually all schools are tools of the #powersthatshouldntbe to indoctrinate the children to become their slaves to work in their mass murdering systems.

There are lots of homeschooling resources. There even a community here on Hive.

Sat Nam

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you:
!PGM !PIZZA !!LUV

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO tokens

remaining commands 9

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


hahahahahahahahahaha! Love this! So funny. The importance of a mother's alone time. I know that need very well, and my kids were all in school. But hubby stayed home all day until just before the kids came home from school (he didn't have to), then came home just after they were all asleep (he didn't have to do that either) and I never had a moment to myself.

Aw, thanks, really. This was one of those ones I wasn't going to post.

No way! It's really good! That makes me wonder how much treasure I've thrown out with my trash.

That makes me wonder how much treasure I've thrown out with my trash.

Likely a lot more than I have!🙃

Funny. I was never tempted to home school. I figured the kids had a better chance of have an integrated personality if they got away from me for part of the day😄

Homeschooling wasn't a thing when I was a kid, in fact, I think I only heard tell of it 20 years or so ago.
It certainly wouldn't've worked in my home. 🙃 Though my father was a bit of a genius, I honestly think he was certifiably insane.

I honestly think he was certifiably insane.

🙂

Well, I have suggested sometimes that my father was insane. Without that excuse, he was simply a moral reprobate.

Without that excuse, he was simply a moral reprobate.

Hahaha, that's a great line and one which you will no doubt see make an appearance in one of my future posts:)
I once asked my father, after he had done something particularly despicable, by what sort of moral code he lived, to which he replied that he always did what was expedient. That was a revelation to me and answered so many questions about why and how he did what he did.

I hope you don't mind that I say we do have some intersections in our childhood experiences, though a great ocean may have separated us, and perhaps generations.😐

It is apparent from your startlingly perceptive comments on many of my anecdotes that we have fought and won similar battles... to make us the well-adjusted and exemplary individuals we are today.:)

haha. Boy was ever glad when they had all left. But I do wonder. Many, if not most, of my personal problems began with a school related issue. I would have mothered differently, not relying on others to teach my kids desirable behavior. Let them be kids more. Maybe I would have been a "better" mother, although they all love me and have good hearts. Most of the items I feel I failed them on were school related now that I think of it.

they all love me and have good hearts

Then you won the war. I am not an entirely socialized person so they were working with limited resources to begin with. We do our best and inevitably have regrets. But if they love you and have good hearts, you did a great job (and for a bonus, keep them out of jail😄)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@atma.love(1/15) tipped @grindan