A lesson in adieu

in Freewriters3 years ago

My Affection is wasted on You

Its fiery character nulled by your staunch resignation

Fledgeling and broken, it perseveres still

How is it so? A curious thing seemingly immortal

Why must it thrive? A dead star aureate in a milion years

Nary a tempestuous moment passes without its subtle prodding

In nighttime, noon and day

How somber is the realization that the journey from mild fascination through deep yearning must end in harrowing contemplative reflection

For if acquiescence to the solemn inevitability of life's wantonness may stem its grim starkness

May I bask in painful cynicism

Lulled into darkness by masterful, macabre compositions

Dawn offers me reprieve from my musings, a sinister truth

Non-conforming in its lack of comfort

Brazen, stolid and candid

Though the night be gone

My fondness is lost on you still

Sort:  

This is great.

This bit

How somber is the realization that the journey from mild fascination through deep yearning must end in harrowing contemplative reflection

sums the whole poem up for me, but I had to read the poem a couple times to understand the statement.

I'm wondering about the non-conformity of not offering comfort. It seems the dawn's coming conforms with a lack of comfort in that the day begins again like any other, relentlessly.

Thank you so much for reading. That part is also my favourite portion of the piece, as it succinctly encompasses the sentiments contained therein.

In the poem, dawn provides no comfort in a manner that is at odds with its usual nature, which is to provide succour after a tumultuous night. Hence, the "respite" it brings is still a world of pain.