The Dragon City

in Freewriters27 days ago

It's being forty and eight years since I left this cursed city and yet nothing has changed. In the Enigma room were still the mysteries that no one had been able to uncover. I stood at the entrance to the room wearing a black Mafian suit and stared at the event happening in the evening. Just beside me was a book seller, looking at his face I remember who he was, a child who was 10 at the time, helping his father to sell. I couldn't believe he had held onto his bookselling for years.
"Al'amin" I called. He stared at my face for a while,
"Who are you?" He asked when he couldn't recognise me. My skin was wrinkled and gray had found it place on my hair.

"Doctor" it was the name with which I was popularly known. His eyes widened and soon his chin fondled up with a grin.
"Doctor?" Surprise written all over his face. "It's been years, where have you been? My father waited for your return but died recently of a plague that inflicted on our people..."
While he spoke, I picked a book from his table and flip few of the pages. It was a book that talked about the city we were in, the dragon city.


Picture generated by @wakeupkitty

"This land is cursed" I mumbled under my breath, everyone I knew who were my age mate died of the plague. I had to run to save myself
"So who are these people?" I asked pointing at those who walked toward the dragon statue and fro.
'Immigrants and worshippers of the dragon " Al'amin said. .
I see history repeating itself, the plague that once ravage the city was knocking at the door. It was the dragon city, but the dragon symbol was only an element of destruction to the city".
"Run away from this city as soon as you can. A bigger trouble is coming". I said to him, as I wore my hat and turned back to exit the city.


This is in response to the Pic1000 Contest by freewritehouse. It's still active for participation

Sort:  

Al'amin would be well served to heed the advice of the Doctor who had already witnessed the destruction of the dragon city from a plague 48 years before. I do wonder whether being told of immigrants to the city possibly triggered his remembrance of how they could have unknowingly played a role in the previous plague perhaps spreading the disease from afar and the practices dealing with the dragon. Since the Doctor left the city to protect himself, the cause may have never been discovered.

An interesting and thoughtful story. Thanks for sharing.

It's so possible. Your contribution is making me see more light in that perspective. Thank You for this wonderful contribution

An enjoyable story!
Thanks for joining pic1000. 👍

Thank You.