Part 1 of the "TEN YEARS OF DARKNESS" freewrite prompt with @ntowl for the 1000 day freewrite contest

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

D5zH9SyxCKd9jk2Nf3LBycMAnrhwp3HwPtMpqrCEi6nSASfeouSMf9G2v6iSiPoQwfgNUeovQrtdrSAaszy5fPsgjgwyTHzBdBLgnMk4WhErvCKLvU7gQbwvaPSopRztsMnbNN.png

To celebrate the 1000 days of freewrites, I partnered with @ntowl to do a we-write using the contest prompt: ten years of darkness.

I shared half the story quite late to @ntowl on Discord and it was amazing how she came up with a continuation in a short while.

THE BEGIN :

TEN YEARS OF DARKNESS IT HAD BEEN!
A Beautiful child full of life I had been. Mild and tender and even spotless. My smile beamed over all my family's troubles and whenever I cried, the whole house stood still. I was the pride of the village, loved by all and sundry. My wittiness was out of this world.

I was only 8 years old when it all happened. When my dad lost his job at the ranch and left my mother with the responsibility of taking care of the household. I had no siblings so it seemed easier to patch up with life necessities but at the same time it wasn't easy because my mom had only but one job.

photo-1483193722442-5422d99849bc.jpeg

Image source : unsplash

Eventually she had to take up another job; working morning and evening to meet ends meet while my dad wallowed in pain of leaving his responsibilities to a woman. That regardless, the love between them changed not. My mom was stuck to my dad like bread and butter and I was like a condiment to them, savouring flavour. But everything changed after one night.

My dad came home drunk. A state I and my mom had never seen him before. The feeling of frustration is something I saw on his face. He had seemingly endured the feelings of not being successful at any job he sought. Maybe it was too much for him, he detested staying at home or maybe the old drunk at the market square had filled things into his head and talked him into drinking away his sorrows...

Sort:  

Congratulations @faith65! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

Yaaaaay! That's great. I hope to earn more badges. Thanks

We are looking forward to see you around collecting new badges soon @faith65! 😉❤️

So sad what life can do to a family!

Really sad. But I really hope most families conquer and have happy endings