A picture is worth a thousand words - Glitter in the horizon

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

As the sun began to set on the horizon, casting a pale orange hue across the sky, I stood at the edge of a frozen lake. The ice beneath my feet creaked and groaned as I shifted my weight from one foot to the other, my breaths coming out in puffs of steam in the cold winter air. How I longed for a hot cup of cocoa.


JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7yUpwZyMEPjiDTc9MggXkFfwVJaPH4zRmxa8WEh4yGBqp6D8FxXnfDkZmQzTdJAmrVz16Gbbu1Q2payFFR1yEc8TtRcKY2.jpeg
Source

I was bundled up in a heavy coat, gloves, and a scarf, but I could still feel the chill seeping through to my coverings into my bones. I had come to the lake to clear my head, to find some peace in the quiet stillness of the winter evening.

I looked out across the frozen expanse, watching as the sun sank lower and lower. It's been awhile since the sun came out. The sky turned from orange to pink to purple, and the stars began to twinkle overhead. I whispered, "indeed God is great". I felt a sense of wonder and awe at the beauty of it all, and I couldn't resist the urge to interact with it.

I reached down and scooped up a handful of snow, packing it tight into a ball. I held it in my hand for a moment, feeling the coldness seeping into my palms, and then I tossed it up into the air.

The ball of snow exploded, scattering a fine mist of ice crystals in every direction. I watched as they glittered and sparkled in the fading light, and I couldn't help but smile at the beauty of it all.

It was nothing huge but I felt good all of a sudden. For a moment, I forgot about all the worries and stresses of my life, and I was simply content to stand there, watching the snowflakes drift lazily to the ground.

As the last bit of light faded from the sky, I turned and walked back across the frozen lake, my footsteps crunching loudly in the stillness of the night. I felt lighter, happier, more at peace than I had in a long time, and I knew that he would come back to this place again and again to find solace in the beauty of the world around me.


My entry to A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words writing contest organized by the #freewritehouse.

Sort:  

You described the scenery but above all the snowball falling, and exploding very well.

Thank you for sharing this with the community! 👍

Thank you for having me

You are more than welcome.

A lovely descriptive piece! ❄️

Thank you for reading. Glad you like it

There is reasonable evidence that this article is machine-generated. Posting such content is considered fraud.
Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Defraud

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.