Two Round Glasses // my first ever free write

in Freewriters4 years ago

bottles2.png

“Hey, how much for these,” I said while holding up two round glasses.
The tired man looked up from behind the table with a quick and childlike excitement that slowly melted into something much more.

“You want those glasses?” He asked as he wiped away a single tear. The faint sound of his words sounded like 'can I tell you a story' came from his lips. He looked up at me and began to tell me a story that reminded me of the sweetest love story that I have ever heard.

“My parents bought these glasses on their wedding day in Germany. It was a different time then, and life was a lot simpler. These turned into 'their' glasses that they shared in their small one bedroom cottage with the rest of my brothers and sisters. They used them everyday up until... until they didn't.

On our way to America they fell ill and shortly after arriving they passed. These glasses are the last glimpse of their memory in this world. Everything else had been lost or destroyed over the years, but these glasses... they made it.”

I could feel the lump rising in my throat as I was thinking about how much money I had in my pocket. After all it was a yard sale, and I wasn't shopping for memories. I think my wife would like these glasses, but would she really ever use them?

I managed to rustle some dollars from my wallet and purchase the glasses. He looked at me with a smile and said “Thank you”. This yard sale was his last, and his children would be moving him into a nursing home soon. They weren't like him and weren't interested in his memories. His story had passed and they were moving on.

Day 990 Free Write Prompt: Round Glasses

Thank you @mariannewest!!

Thank you all for joining me for my very first ever free write. I have been creating various styles of content for more than three years, and this was a faithful jump into uncharted waters. A special thank you to my lovely bride Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) for helping me to polish this piece.

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Inner Blocks Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

Sort:  

Pretty good for a first free write! The Yeti has some hidden talents!

Aww thank you ceci!

Hi lovely lady! :D

How are you and your family doing over there? :D I hope you're all safe and sound. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Hi there, @frostyamber! We are hanging in the best we can in these turbulent times. How are things in Eastern Canada? Wishing you and yours an awesome and safe day my friend!

Hello again lovely lady! :D

I knew you would be, you're a survivor that knows how to keep going no matter the situation! :D

We are doing well here. :D Thanks for asking. :D Our garden beds are growing quite nicely right now and we're going to be canning a lot of veggies, Lord willing. :D So far, we've all been safe and healthy, thank God. :D Our daughter is the one that's most at risk as she is a homecare worker that works with elderly clients in their homes, but she takes every precaution to protect her clients and herself and we pray for them. :D

Thank you my friend! :D

God bless you and yours. :D

Congratulations @freedompoint! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1500 posts. Your next target is to reach 1600 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello my friend! :D

Great story! :D

It's a perfect example of life, my life at least, LOL...I'm at the stage in my life that I'm trying to give some things to our adult children, but I know they'll probably toss out, give away, or sell most of them down the road. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Pretty good. Congrats on your first freewrite.

Great freewrite, even though (or perhaps because) it made me sad.

Aww thank you!