Loni | 5 Minute Freewrite | Basketball

in Freewriters4 years ago


Loni looked down at her tennis shoes with intensity hoping to look engaged, busy even. Yes, there was the black smudge on the left just below her pinkie toe, and her right laces really should be replaced. For a moment the burning in her cheeks subsided and she almost forgot why she was looking down at all. But then he laughed and she remembered.

Her eyes traveled up to her ankle socks. One yellow and one white. If no one looked closely they could pass as the same color...it didn't matter which one. But then she remembered the was a tiny bunny on the yellow one. Her internal sigh sounded loud in her ears.

Someone nearby yelled and it echoed across the big empty gymnasium, then came the slapping sounds of basketballs across the floor.

“Everyone pick a partner and practice passing the ball,” Mr. Castor announced and blew his whistle.

Loni stared harder at her shoes.

A throat cleared next to her, and she couldn't help herself. She looked up to see the love of her life, Aiden McKellan, standing next to her, of course he didn't know this. Her cheeks burned hot.

“I couldn't help but notice that you aren't picking a partner,” he said.

“I, well, yeah,” she stammered.

“I know I've tried before, and you've always shot me down, but do you wanna be my partner?”

She tried to look anywhere but his face. She couldn't think when she looked at his face.

“Loni, Aiden less talking more passing!” Mr. Castor yelled.

She was stuck.

“You heard the man, let's see what that little bunny on your sock is made of!”


Thanks so much for sharing this me! For more info about freewrites, check out @mariannewest!

Much love,
Stacie D

flower page break.png




hi

Sort:  

Oh how I remember those awkward days of being a teenager! I can honestly say I would not want to go back LOL.

Hahaha me either...the dread and excitment of crushes...talk to me, don't talk to me...ahhhh! Lol I like being an adult and married 😂

Haha! Yes... Even dating was a nightmare I was single for many years after my divorce. I am now planning on marriage July 31st of 2021 because we had to cancel our wedding date July 18th 2020. I'm actually sitting on the end of my vacation week for what was supposed to be my wedding. The pandemic had other plans, but I am content with my future and my fiance. Have a wonderful day!

Congrats on getting married! Yeah, this pandemic has been crazy. Have you had a good vacation week?

Thank you. We have a year to go yet for the wedding and it's been a relaxing Staycation 😌.

This the start of new story?

Maybe! I wrote one other one with Loni, but I never got it posted, just a timing thing. Maybe she would be like little episodes of teenage life we all would rather forget haha

You captured the teenage mentality perfectly @freedomtowrite, everything mattered and was either the best thing in the world or the end of it, thanks for sharing, it's awesome.



Made in Canva

@flaxz - Admin/Curator


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Haha thank you! That was just what I was going for. And you are right...everything mattered and it was either a nailed it or failed it haha. Have a great day! Thanks again!

What? Wait a minute....I want to know what happens! LOL Great writing! It flowed really well & captured my interest. I also love how you captured the teen angst we all went through on one level or another in our lives. I appreciate you & thank you for sharing this with us :) I hope to see more of this in the future. Keep up the great work! You Are Awesome! 👍🙂💚



Made in Canva

@pixiepost - Comment Moderator


The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".

Haha maybe I'll write more about Loni and all the teenage shenanigans! Thanks for the encouragement!

Yes, you definitely should! LOL It was getting interesting, too :) You are very welcome. Thanks for sharing with us :) 💚