A Weekend Freewrite: bulb

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png

Source

Christmas time had already passed. The sound of caroling in the village ceased. Instead, now only sparrows and flickers can be heard singing with all joy. I think they sometimes accompany me on my way to the forest when I must do my work. This happens every day at dawn and dusk. But today it did not happen as I arrived at night. In fact, the way home was very lonely.



I greet my family, have dinner and when I am about to take my clothes off, my youngest son, Wellow, calls me.

"Dad, come here. Why haven't you taken down the Christmas lights in the yard?"

"What are you talking about, little boy? I took them down like all the neighbors.

"No, they're still on the wooden roof."

"I've never put up..."

"You see, Dad? They're still shining."

"Haha, don't worry, son. These aren't Christmas lights, they're fireflies."

"Firefl... what?"

"They're going to go away. Look."

"It's not working, dad. Let me get your ladder and screwdriver to remove these little light bulbs."

"Boy, these light bulbs don't come off like that. Let me better look for..."

"Dad, look up! Now there are lots of them in the sky and they're getting bigger."

"They're everywhere!"

"Take it easy, Mr. Pickford. Here are the men in black. Alien light-devouring race escaped from the lab. We're picking up the last individuals who are resisting us."

"What are you talking about?"

"Dad, aren't they the ones from the movies?"

"Look here, please. It will all be part of a dream and nothing more."

image.png

Source


English.gif

Sort:  

That's deadly, a light devouring race is a cool idea. Also the men in black would be scary, imagine them using something like that renders any encounter with them as a dream. Reminds me of an alien in Doctor Who, you only knew about it while looking at it but the instant you turned away you forgot all about it's exsistance, always interested me as a concept.
Great work on your freewrite!

I think alien races, and its possible abilities, are as endless as the Universe itself. So, it is interesting to handle all the chances to develop any piece of writing this way. Hope you can come up with a great story, dude :)

Thanks for stopping by!