HOPE: Is It Something We Should Continue To Have?

in Freewriters3 years ago

Source

Sometimes I wonder how we're able to go through difficult situations? Like some people have lived in poverty for a long time. But what keeps them going? How do people get through hard times? How do they survive? How do they wake up the next morning knowing full well that they'll still meet that problem? Some people would've taken their own lives but they choose to power through the difficulty? How do they do it? Well I'll give you the answer to all these questions. They have HOPE. They believe their situation won't always be that way. They believe things will get better one day. They don't know when things will get better, but they just know there will be a change. They HOPE for better days. So what exactly does this word meaning? Some will say hope is a feeling of optimism. Others will say it's having high expectations about something. I think the best definition of hope I've seen is that, “It is the strength of a person's desire or will for something to happen”. I'm not going to lie, writing about this got me very emotional. So I'm writing this from that thing that beats in my chest(I mean my heart by the way😂).

Writing about hope took my mind to all the people out there going through some really tough times. It took my mind to the Palestine and Israel war. I don't know whether to call it a war or genocide or just slaughter. Honestly I don't know the details of the entire thing but from the small part I've heard, I believe it's going to be a very hard time for the people from Palestine. Even if this conflict does finally end, rebuilding their homes out of rubble is not going to be easy at all. My mind also went to the present problem of insecurity in Nigeria. From the kidnapping in Abia state University to the killing of police men in Port Harcourt to the general problem that boko Haram has brought to the northerners. All I'm trying to say Is that the world we live in today is unsafe and just crazy. The people who even claimed to be on our sides are the ones who are silently killing us. They couldn't care less about the fact that people are dying every where. I don't even want to talk about the random killing of youths. Nigeria is a whack place to live in. Our economy is suffering; the people are suffering. Someone said if you can live in Nigeria, then you can survive anywhere. Living in Nigeria is difficult, but I think living anywhere in the world isn't easy either. Being alive and staying alive isn't an easy task at all.

You might be wondering, “what does this have to do with hope? ”. It has everything to do with hope. Being in such situations for such a long time can be very difficult. With all the bad governance, insecurity and poverty in the world we all still find a way to go through such difficulties (without having a total mental breakdown), believing that things will get better. That's like the exact definition of hope. And I think everyone deserves an award for being so hopeful for so long without seeing any big development and still believing that better days will come👏🏾👏🏾. The struggle is very real and we have all managed to keep fighting for this long. Hope isn't only about believing that change will eventually come, it also involves you doing your own part to make things better. And I think Nigerian youths actually did their part by going into the streets to bring change themselves. Even it ended with a lot of people dying, the youths of this country have my full respect and I am proud to be called a Nigerian youth. I know that people are out there exercising their willingness to cause changes, whether the government likes it or not. I just want to y'all to keep doing what you're doing, you might not see change now but all your effort will pay off.

I feel a heavy burden being lifted off my chest after writing this. It feels good to pour out all of this in writing. Hope and faith are two things which you can never be certain about. It's just a matter of believing, working to fulfill your desire and giving it all time. If it's meant to be, it will surely happen. That's how hope works. Things just fall in place when the time is right. Telling you that it's not going to take time would be lying. The question now is, how long can we really keep waiting?

@golden06

Sort:  

Like some people have lived in poverty for a long time.

For example me. Nowadays my income is much less than the minimum wage.

The question now is, how long can we really keep waiting?

I am waiting since 28 years. It will be 29 years on 2021.09.17.
I probably have a few more decades (most likely approximately a half century) on Earth, then I will go to another place. Hopefully a much better place than planet Earth.

I understand the pain but then, you just have to keep leaving and working to make everything better, no doubt it's not easy, but eventually, you will get there.

Congratulations @golden06! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Great article, with lots of food for thought. I know very little about Nigeria but I did spend 2+ years running my business... while homeless on the streets of Toronto. I had hope for much of that time.

Interestingly, I only rose up out of the situation when I abandoned hope, gave up, and marched towards my own death.

It was a major turning point.

Hope is one emotion, and it's a good one, but it may not always be the exact key to solutions, sometimes anger or frustration can help, sometimes optimism and joy can help. Hope is somewhere in-between, I would say.

Anyway, thanks for an interesting post! 🙏

Very true too. Sometimes the pain and the struggle motivate us to be better and do better. But not everyone can handle the frustration, but I still it has a way of pulling some people up. Thanks for sharing your thought.

Yes, great perspectives and insights on all of this. I really appreciate you sharing it and replying. Thanks again!🙏