Dirty Windows | A 5-Minute Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago

I was given the honor to deliver the High School graduation speech on behalf of my class. I was supposed to make everybody feel good, but there was a tiny detail I could not overlook.


Source

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

For five years, which is the time High School last here, I never saw any of our custodians (and we had quite a few) clean any windows. There were many other things they never did, but I developed this sort of fixation with the windows. Maybe, that was a reflection of how often I got bored and how much contemplation I entertained. There was actually nothing interesting to see out of the windows.

In all the classrooms I attended, down or upstairs, the view was far from entertaining. Our high school was just one more of the many that were built in the 70s. Same boring gray design, prison-looking, no greens, no sports facilities, no pretty houses in the vicinity.

Since my freshman year, every time I sat by a window, or found myself looking through them, I noticed they were filthy. The filth was actually the one thing I remember. It stopped me from my lucubration. I can’t recall one single thing that went through my mind in those years, but I can’t forget the dirty windows.

So, when the time came for me to deliver some sort of inspirational speech in front of the whole school, with tons of parents and visitors wearing their best clothes, to say good bye to our educational home and to all the people who allegedly helped us build some character for our future academic, social, and civil challenges, I did not find it in me to follow my best friend’s dad’s advice. He had proofread my speech and suggested that I mention and thank every personnel, as part of the protocol.

He was actually the master of ceremony and after praising my speech when I was done, he got close to me and whispered in my ear, “Why didn’t you mention the custodians?”
“The windows,” I said. “Even today, they are dirty.”


Thanks for stopping by

This was my entry to @mariannewest’s 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: dirty wondows. Details here.

Make sure you visit the Freewrite House!!!

Freewrite House.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

Sort:  

Hi hlezama,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for your support, @curie

And you did right, as well ... the custodians got JUST what they deserved, for their YEARS of neglecting their duties!

Thanks for stopping by, @deeanndmathews
In my culture it has become customary to just follow customs and protocols and honor even those who do not deserve any kind of recognition, just because...
It has always bothered me that this starts at schools, a place where we are supposed to learn to think critically and build morals. I always was what we call "a stone in the 👟"; no friends of protocols that just perpetuate mediocrity.

Funny @hlezama

The windows,” I said. “Even today, they are dirty.”

Esta historia es de la vida real hlezama,bueno de ser asì o no,pobre niño,como se iba a inspirar en medio de ese ambiente,los obreros siempre en las escuelas echan carro,recuerdo que en la mìa eran mandaderos para ir a comprar el pescado y otras cosas,sin embargo mi escuelita siempre luciò limpia y gracias a Dios aun cuenta con muchos àrboles que tienen mucha historia que contar.