My Five Minutes of Free Writing #109 / surgery window

image.png

Source

The most difficult days for many people are those that are lived in a hospital ward, not only when you are sick and must remain confined, but also when you are accompanying a loved one, a family member who is convalescing in the hospital.

The most anguishing hours are lived when for some reason you do not know what is happening in an operating room and your attention is constantly focused on that small window waiting to see if someone comes with news, always praying to the Lord that it is good news.

When you live a situation like this, you feel that the hours, minutes and seconds are eternal and a horrible fear invades you that the worst could happen, you anguish, you cry, you pray, you beg the Lord that everything will be all right.

Honestly, I have not yet experienced a situation like the one I am describing, in terms of any illness or high risk surgery, the closest I came was the birth of two of my children, the first and the last one that was born.

I remember my first experience as a father as if it had happened recently, although that was more than eighteen years ago, and to make a long story short, my wife was taken to the delivery room the night of September 24.

Being a man and being in a maternity ward I was not allowed to enter, but I was left in the waiting room with the other attendants, on several occasions I asked and they told me that she was fine, she even looked out on some occasions while walking.

In the early morning I had no news of her and I was very distressed, I asked and they only told me that she was fine, but I wanted to see for myself. Those were the most anguishing hours that I lived behind a hospital door, watching the small window in the delivery room waiting for news.

It was not until one o'clock in the afternoon of September 25 that I got the news, everything is fine, his wife gave birth to a baby girl, an indescribable emotion ran through my body, and then I was allowed to go in to see them.

Let me know what you think!