My wish…

in Freewriters5 days ago (edited)

"I envy you Jojo, no scratch that, I envy you all", I said to my friends Josephine and Nancy. The same words I usually say to every teenager who isn't locked up in her father’s house 24/7 and has a life of her own.

"Don't be like that Aria", Josephine said softly.

The school bell rang and I knew it was my cue to end the discussion and quickly head to the parking lot as my driver Mr. David was waiting for me.

"Good Afternoon Mr. David," I said as I entered the car.

"Good Morning Miss Harrison, How are you doing today?" David asked.

"Very well thank you and you?" I replied.

"I am doing fine", Mr. David replied.

Just like every other ride, the ride was short and silent.

IMG_0432.jpeg

We got to the house in no time. Staring at me was my father’s gigantic house, one would have thought it was a castle built to protect the King and Queen but no, it was my father's house and my prison for the longest that I could remember.

"Bye Mr. David see you tomorrow" I bade Mr. David goodbye.

"Goodbye Miss Harrison", Mr. David said whilst waving back at me

Wipping the smile from my face I immediately switched back to my depressed mode. I took the stairs to my room, each step drew me closer and closer to my mini prison, a prison where even a presidential pardon from the President of the country wouldn’t change anything.

With tears in my eyes I opened my bedroom door, I stared at the room where I would be holed up all day tomorrow when my friends and classmates would be all dolled up and dancing gracefully with their dates at prom.

"It is well", I hissed as I threw my bag pack on the table and slumped on my bed.

Thoughts of my late mother filled my mind, Mum had passed away when I was a little girl. Flashes of the painful incident kept running through my mind and my heart began to hurt like every time I had flashes of the fatal accident.
I shut my eyes so tight to shut out the memories of Mum’s death before the pain got worse.

I knew if Mum was alive going to prom wouldn't be a big deal as Mum wouldn’t let Dad stop me from going to prom.

Dad saw Prom as a waste of effort, resources, and time. To him, spending one's time planning what to wear and who to go with to prom was a total waste of time as compared to focusing on one's studies and getting admitted to an Ivy League school. An Ivy league to dad is the ultimate goal.

I was so sad because I had dreamt of going to prom ever since the first day I got to know about it. Mum would have been more than happy to get me all dolled up as it was every mother's dream to get her daughter ready for prom.

I was angry and sad at the same time because my constant begging and tears couldn't make my dad change his mind. His words were loud and clear "No Prom Aria, no time for frivolities, focus on your studies and future". If I had bad grades I wouldn’t have been this sad but I am a straight-A student and just one day of living wouldn't ruin my grades or my chances of getting into an Ivy League school.

IMG_0607.jpeg

source
With tears in my eyes I stared at the bird that flew passed and I couldn't help but envy the bird. "Lucky you", I had said to it like it could hear and understand me.

This bird had the liberty to fly to wherever he so pleased without anyone reprimanding him or grounding him but here I was all locked up in this hell hole of a house till whenever God knows.

Feeling defeated I signed and tried to remove my socks.

I have only wished for one thing in life and that was to be free, free to make my own decisions, free to be who I truly am and free to live my life just like the bird, “Dear Lord is this too much to ask?”

From this picture all I can see a free bird who has nothing to worry about in life and I feel he is happy and going about his daily business.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I know exactly what Aria is going through 😔

Have you been in such a situation before dear @walindo?

I am still in that situation, I may be a bird but my wings are torn off.

I feel for Aria, I hope that her father would have at least allowed her to go to prom, and not feel like a prisoner in her father's house.

Hopefully, she will be able to live her life someday without so much restrictions, free and happy.

Hopefully, she will be able to live her life someday without so much restrictions, free and happy.

Yes Funshee Hopefully🥰🥰

I hope she gets the freedom she needs. ❤️

#dreemerforlife

I hope too my !lady🥰

For a moment I thought you saw the gull on a poster on the wall.

I loved reading you
@wakeupkitty

Thank you so much😃