Pains of Illiteracy

in Freewriterslast year

Education is key yes but most people have been unfortunate when it comes to this, some due to lack of finances while growing up, others lacked the willpower to further their education, whatever the reason may be.

As learned or educated people that we are we must help these people who cannot read or write, trust me they go through a lot, just imagine not being able to read a form that was handed out to you to fill out or not being able to understand a text message that was sent to your phone. Let’s not try to make it worse for them.

image_6483441.JPG
source

When I was posted to the customer service department in the firm that I work with, I got to understand that there are so many illiterate people, both young and old, and yes the younger ones' plight baffles me the most but then again we are not opportune to know their stories.

At the customer service then, I saw so many people walk into my office and after being handed a form they’d come up with so many excuses like “please my dear help me fill the form I forgot my glasses at home" or "could you please fill it so I don’t make mistake while filling it” when we see such signs we are supposed to get the message that it’s either this person actually forgot their glasses or cannot read for real.

An incident prompted me to make this post today.

There’s this lady that I sort of adopted as a mother because she was so nice to me when I moved into the neighborhood, we became really close and when I eventually moved out of the neighborhood to a new one, we didn't get to see often so we only communicated through WhatsApp.

She doesn’t know how to read and write so she’d always send me voice notes on WhatsApp and I’d do the same. Madam Ella and I continued this way, as it helps to keep track of what is going on in both our lives. Just earlier today she sent a disturbing voice note, she was scammed.

She had this habit of always giving a local collector her money to save for her because she was too busy with her restaurant business to make a trip to the bank to save her money and her account was blocked by the bank because she wasn’t using it. I kept on explaining to her the need to save her money in the bank herself but she kept assuring me that she would do that but in the meantime the local collector was trustworthy.

I understood Madam Ella’a plight, she was too ashamed to go to the bank because she felt she’d be given multiple forms to fill out and would be ask so many questions that she wouldn’t be able to answer, I assured her I was going to go with her but she kept on stalling till I moved out of the neighborhood.

The local collector ran away with her money, a huge one to say the least. She has been so devastated ever since, and I didn’t play the whole blame game thingy with her because I know how hurt she is, I just sympathized with her.

Now this is just a tidbit of what illiterate people go through, they feel they are so dumb that they know nothing at all, they lose their confidence whenever it comes to understanding anything in fine print and being unable to write anything makes it harder, due to this fact they are forced to believe whoever that can stand as a bridge between them and literacy, too bad we have so many educated people that lack integrity, people who are willing to leverage on this and ruin them.

This is sad and I think people need to stop such wicked acts. Do not take advantage of people because of their weaknesses.

Thanks for stopping by

Loads of love🥰🥰

XOXO

Sort:  

I really appreciate this post. I am teaching in a remote area particularly with my Aeta learners somewhere here in our mountain area of San MArceleino, Zambales. I've met a lot of parents who are (no read and no write) the reason why they find some discrimination in society, and because of that, they are taken advantage of by other people.
Everyone should be aware that instead of insulting and degrading them, we should try our best to help and teach them.

the reason why they find some discrimination in society, and because of that, they are taken advantage of by other people.

It’s really sad, I can’t even imagine what they are going through.

Remove the concept of reading and writing most of them are way smarter than most “educated people “

Thanks for stopping by😃
!LADY

Congratulations @ibbtammy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I think it's really bad to take advantage of others because they are illiterate.

I feel really sorry for madam Ella. With the way you described madam Ella, I feel she is one of those people who didn't get the chance to go to school because of one reason or another.

I feel she is one of those people who didn't get the chance to go to school because of one reason or another.

Yes she is but really smart when it comes to anything pertaining business😃

She's an example of those we call street smart