#Freewrite - Single Prompt Option, 'Succession Crisis'

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

succession.png


Happy Saturday #Freewriters

I hope you've been well and had a great week.

It's been a tough one for me but I got through. I got a few big posts done, more than I though I'd accomplish, honestly.

aussie banner.gif

I'm really grateful to the work everyone put in for this community. I'm still go glad to finally have found an online writing community that are so helpful, encouraging and most of all active.

Today is Weekend Freewrite day, where you can choose any prompt from the 5 given throughout the week.

Since I misses yesterday's prompt, I'm going to use that one.

Today's Prompt: 'Not so clear'


Succession Crisis


Parker lowered the receiver in complete disbelief.

He held a gasp for a minute before remembering to exhale. His eyes glossed over as a reel of thoughts played in fast-forward. So many things were about to become unglued and thrown into flux. He made a list of people he needed to call in order of priority; Gabriel his lawyer, Marcia and Lee his associates, the Reinhardt Brothers, and finally his wife.

While Gabe filed injunctions against the other partners, Marcia and Lee would be engaging in the timeless tradition of destroying evidence. If anyone besides him takes Lordrummer's position, then that would be too dangerous to keep around.

If anyone knew what Parker and and the President were up to, it would mean his death.

Minutes passed before the voice on the other end finally caught up to him.

"Parker, are you there?"

"Yeah, I'm here."

Mack's voice was dark and uncertain, no doubt he was on-the-move as well. Parker suspected he'd see an injunction before him within a few hours.

"You're needed here. A car will be there in ten minutes."

"Okay, I'll be there."

His eyes stung and the throbbing in his head was only getting worse. An aroma of sweat and tobacco wafted and his sweaty office attire clung to his skin.

For the first time the future was not so clear, and only one thing would remedy that.

A war of succession was coming.
peakd.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed.

This went well beyond the standard 5 minutes, but when I started I just went with it.

I hope you guys have a great weekend. Stay safe!


I delegate to and recommend:

@curie

@pommom

@freewritehouse

@actifit

@thesocalhive

Sort:  

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency