The Wrong End of the Microscope - A ZapFic 250-Word MicroFiction Story | Based on 22 April 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2350 | Prompt: my corruption (mi corrupción)

ZapFic250-Logo.png

MicroFiction: A 250 word story written using the word prompt "my corruption".

...When I think of the prompt "corruption", several scenarios come to mind. But the fallback is always wrongdoing in the guise of something else. A cover up of sorts. At its core, the word corruption is meant to convey a sense of unethical behavior. A single actor committing fraudulent actions or colluding with another person or persons meant to act outside the law. I share a micro story that includes the prompt, the format of which is told in exactly 250 words. Enjoy.

For my theme, I was inspired by and utilized the @daily.prompt's publishing of 22 April 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2350: my corruption.

Below is my story:

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

"I'll tell you straightaway. It wasn't me. I wouldn't know how to formulate corruption. But I'll tell you my suspicion. You're looking through the wrong end of the microscope. Try those who've positioned themselves to rake in a ton on the failure of my company's research.. And you can toss in society's role. Ready to drop the gauntlet to silence us. The worst food contamination outbreak the world has yet seen," Harvey Denier, the lab assistant, postured.

He hissed, continuing, "and the dept. head blames someone whose only job is to shuffle test tubes!"*

Inspector Jorgens watched as Harvey spun around, his arms flailing. Out of breath and with his mouth dry, the incensed worker managed to fling one last thought toward him.

"I guess now you'll tell me it was the plastic wrap I suggested the lab's purchaser order for my use? I'll not take the fall for this, I tell you. I'll not. I'll bring the entire company down and enter the witness protection program. Now, is there anything else you want to suspect me doing?"

Inspector Jorgens frowned, curious at this new information, then turned to walk from the room.

Later, Jorgens sat in his car. A thousand puzzle pieces to assemble. Pushing his thin, graying hair back from his forehead, his glasses fell. He scratched his head violently as if a thousand questions crawled through his scalp like a horrible case of dandruff.

Immediately, he jerked his head toward the window.

The night janitor tapped lightly.

Pixabay-felixioncool-microscope-385364_640.jpg
Source

FreeWriteDividerLine-MarianneWest.png

Microficción: Relato de 250 palabras escrito a partir de la palabra "mi corrupción".

...Cuando pienso en la palabra «corrupción», me vienen a la mente varios escenarios. Pero el recurso es siempre la fechoría disfrazada de otra cosa. Una especie de encubrimiento. En el fondo, la palabra corrupción pretende transmitir una sensación de comportamiento poco ético. Un único actor cometiendo acciones fraudulentas o confabulándose con otra persona o personas para actuar al margen de la ley. Comparto un microrrelato que incluye el prompt, cuyo formato es narrado en exactamente 250 palabras. Que lo disfrutes.

Para mi tema, me inspiré y utilicé la publicación de @daily.prompt de 22 April 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2350: my corruption

A continuación mi historia.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

El extremo equivocado del microscopio

«Te lo diré directamente. No fui yo. No sabría cómo formular la corrupción. Pero te diré mi sospecha. Estás mirando por el lado equivocado del microscopio. Pruebe con los que se han posicionado para rastrillar una tonelada en el fracaso de la investigación de mi empresa .. Y usted puede tirar en el papel de la sociedad. Listo para soltar el guante para silenciarnos. El peor brote de contaminación alimentaria que el mundo ha visto hasta ahora", posó Harvey Denier, el ayudante de laboratorio.

Siseó y continuó: «¡Y el jefe del departamento culpa a alguien cuyo único trabajo es barajar tubos de ensayo!»*.

El inspector Jorgens vio cómo Harvey giraba sobre sí mismo, agitando los brazos. Sin aliento y con la boca seca, el indignado trabajador consiguió lanzarle un último pensamiento.

«¿Supongo que ahora me dirás que fue el envoltorio de plástico que sugerí que encargara el comprador del laboratorio para mi uso? No voy a cargar con la culpa, te lo aseguro. No lo haré. Haré caer a toda la compañía y entraré en el programa de protección de testigos. Ahora, ¿hay algo más de lo que quiera sospechar que hago?».

El inspector Jorgens frunció el ceño, curioso ante esta nueva información, y se dio la vuelta para salir de la habitación.

Más tarde, Jorgens se sentó en su coche. Mil piezas de rompecabezas por montar. Se apartó el pelo canoso de la frente y se quitó las gafas. Se rascó la cabeza con violencia, como si mil preguntas se arrastraran por su cuero cabelludo como un horrible caso de caspa.

Inmediatamente, sacudió la cabeza hacia la ventana.

El conserje nocturno dio un ligero golpecito.

Pixabay-felixioncool-microscope-385364_640.jpg
Source

FreeWriteDividerLine-MarianneWest.png

The screenshot at WORDCOUNTER.net evidences my use of exactly 250 words to create my ZapFic250.

La captura de pantalla en WORDCOUNTER.net evidencia mi uso de exactamente 250 palabras para crear mi ZapFic250.

Screenshot 2024-04-23 at 12-30-19 WordCounter - Count Words & Correct Writing-ZAPFIC250-prompt-corruption.png

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

262866.png

English is my native language.
If translation included, I use DeepL to assist my readers.
Thanks for your patience an understanding
.

El inglés es mi lengua materna.
Si se incluye traducción, utilizo DeepL para ayudar a mis lectores.
Gracias por su paciencia y comprensión.

262866.png

Sort:  

Great and interesting story.

Thanks @djbravo. I appreciate you stopping by and viewing my story. I was hoping a bit of intrigue would be interesting. I hope the case is solved.

Take care.
!ALIVE

@djbravo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.