My Baby-Girl - Now A Young Woman || A FreeWrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

ezgif.comoptimize.gif

That's my baby! No matter how old she gets, she will always be my baby. My firstborn. It isn't easy to let go. But I have to! It's the way of life.

Just days away and I am prepared, of course, I knew this day would come, but it doesn't make it any easier. My firstborn will be off to Uni in less than a week. This day next week, she will not be in her room. She will not help me cook rice or keep an eye on the boys when I have to go out. She won't be checking in on me to hang out with friends or to send her places. She won't be asking me if her outfit looks alright. I won't be able to catch her when she's moody to find out if everything is okay. She won't tell me to get to bed, that I am staying up too late Hive'ing and I can't do the same for her when she gets too loud playing Valorant late into the night... hmmmm, maybe I can still call her and check whether she's in bed - No! Sh33la- NO!!

I told her, I still want her to at least text me. Every single night to let me know the day was good and everything is alright with her. Hey, that's okay, right? We are pretty close, and according to her, we don't have the usual Mother/Daughter relationship. That she tells me everything and her friends are shocked at the things she shares with me. honestly, my mother and I shared a similar relationship, so...

Am I finding it hard to let go? Hahaha - you know the answer to that! As the firstborn, I may have done a fair amount of molly-coddling and helicopter parenting. I wanted to save her from the pain and heartache of life. And yes, I agree I am delusional. The only thing I can do is be there to hold her hand and lend her a shoulder and give her hug or just words of encouragement - because life gets everyone. It's called living. And the best a parent can do is allow them their journey and be there for them.

So, it is a big thing for us. She is the first one in her generation going to local Uni, and with her first choice too. So, of course, we had to celebrate. And you can see she is starting to get more confident, not needing to check with me for opinions and suggestions, making her own decisions. My baby girl, now a young woman.

I am going to miss her terribly. Thank goodness there are video calls. So, anyway, we went out for a meal together. Which is allowed with all SOPs in place. Something we haven't done since lockdown. And probably not again till I'm not sure when. We do try and stay at home unless it is necessary to go out.

IMG_2340.PNG

We settled for Western-Mexican fusion at Chilis. Nachos and fajitas, ribs & mini burgers. Ordered to share amongst the 6 of us. A family that eats together right?

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

This is for the prompt close dropped my @MarianneWest. You can swing on over HERE to read what the other Freewriters came up with :D

Thank you for dropping in and hanging out. Till next time, Carpe Diem❣️
sh33la

All images are from My Gallery
Post also appears HERE, edited for Hive
Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Hi @steemflow ... thank youuuuu

You are welcome. 🙂

This is beautiful.
No matter how a child grows he/she is still their parent's baby
You must be so proud of your daughter

Always & Forever 😊
Very, very proud of her.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Aw, sorry I missed this 3 weeks ago!!
Our youngest of 3 moved out a year ago. Four hours away. So, yes, "the best a parent can do is allow them their journey and be there for them." I miss all three kids - our son moved to Mexico city May 23 and doesn't know when he will return to the States. Oh for the days of tribes and villages, no mass transit, which forced most offspring to stay close to home. Ah, but as you point out, we have video calls! and Roads! and ways to travel!

Guess the missing never ends eh
She's home for this weekend
Just enjoy every precious moment we get <33

The missing will never end, it's true, unless they move in next door to you. :) My neighbor's daughter built a house on her parents' 20 acres, and her kids have their grandparents every day. I'd settle for kids 40 miles away......

ooooh, I wonder if mine will anything remotely close hahaha

We can dream. -_- Or buy lots of airline tickets to visit our future grandchildren!