You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Freewriter to Agency Deal with APS International!

in Freewriters4 years ago

Joanna Penn is a prolific author and also, a very good businesswoman. I have listened to her podcasts for quite a while. She built herself a high 6 figure income with all her offerings to the world.
Chirp is a business that sells audiobooks for a discount - they usually are on offer for about 30 days. A good way for a listener/reader to get a lot of books - and for an author to get them in front of people :)
I think audiobook recording will be different than life reading. You want to have good sound (mics are not that expensive) and you will have to do quite a bit of editing to get it clean...
But it is the fastest-growing market...

Sort:  

Okay, good to know ... I know some people who can help me with the mics and all ... Chirp ... I also know a grand voiceover artist as well who already has the setup!

My end date in KDP Select is actually October 6, so, maybe by Christmas, you will hear a "chirp" ...

Sounds good! I loved your reading yesterday but for some reason, I couldn't comment. I was listening from my phone.
As to the setup - mics are not that expensive and a mentor of mine has done audiobooks (she is a professional podcaster) and recorded to her laptop with a mic sitting in her closet :)
When I first started podcasting, I used audacity - a free editing software. I don't know if that is still around. But there should be free or very cheap options...
You could do your life readings with a mic in front of you.
I have the ATR 2100 - it goes on sale ever so often. But there are others that have good sound and can be had for less than $ 100. I feel that a pop filter is a must...
Personally, when I listen to podcasts, I don't mind misspoken words - but when I listen to a book, it takes me out of the story.