The Sale Bait - #ZapFic50Friday

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

The sale bait

Walking on the street
surrounded by concrete
I lift my eyes up high
I read a sign BUY, BUY
I wonder WHY, WHY, WHY
I'd rather not comply
What is the thing with sale?
It puts on us a veil
Don't buy if you don't need
start planting freedom's seed!

IMG_20221106_044632.jpg

This is a statue in the city center of Thessaloniki, Greece. To me it symbolises breaking free from the toxic habits that the city life entails, such as consumerism.
Photographer: myself

Word count screenshot

IMG_20221106_045356.jpg

This is my entry to the weekly writing contest #ZapFic50Friday; a short story-poem using the prompt "sale".
#ZapFic50Friday is a literary initiative from the Freewriters Community in which participants use the prompt provided to write a story of exactly 50 words.

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yennDngYu6iZCuc4dA9jxaHRwJSjitBph2ZT7sratZsbv342VuvbT2h4ZNQF99uhDwuCLoHusRYcDn7duzfsH4f48miSGTZnEWZbWX3PmfjNUpFPjWe2.jpeg


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I enjoyed your poem :) Indeed- ditch consumerism and invest in life 🔥

Welcome to Hive, also! I hope you have a wonderful time here :) There are so many fun writing initiatives here! The Ink Well has two weekly prompts, Scholar and Scribe does a variety of contests, and Freewriters does as well (including the weekly zap fic engagements) I look forward to seeing more of your writing 😁🤗

Thanks so much @grindan for the warm welcome and all the tips. It's so exciting to be discovering such inspiring communities in here. I love the writing initiatives and I'll try to keep up with as many as possible! Looking forward to reading more of your work too :)

Congratulations @marilandia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is an interesting write dear.
I enjoyed reading this.

Thank you, glad you liked it

Yes I did.