Medal [5 minutes freewrite]

in Freewriters9 months ago

spirals

It is a dark starry night with the stars hanging from the sky like dull silver MEDALs. I am walking home from shop looking very tired and haggard. Three more blocks, just three, is all i need to drag my feet across and make it indoors to avoid dropping unconscious on the road.

There had been more people visiting the area which meant more work to be done to satisfy prospective customers as a business that valued qualitative services. For five days and four nights, the counter had been the little home that got me through.

It is still dark and the stars seems to have been replaced by spinning spirals. Finally! I must have made my way to bed and this dream must be telling me something positive. Maybe another 'best attendant of the week' MEDAL award from my boss or a generous tip from a pleased customer. Tomorrow should tell.

'He is finally awake, sir', a lady in white broke the silence in the room as I opened my eyes, calling the attention of a man also dressed in white with a special type of MEDAL around his neck. This place does not look like my bedroom and the faces are unfamiliar too. Who are these people? What am I doing here? When did I get here? I need to know.


This is a 5-minute freewrite in response to the prompt 'medal' which you can find in this post.
Partnered with @julti1985 for August DreemPort Challenge. Find and support her freewrite here.


Images crafted using personal, dreemport assets with permission and/or free resources on [Paint3D, Adobe Express, Canva Pro]

banner