Deleted Story About A Shebang

in Freewriters4 years ago

In computing, a shebang is the character sequence consisting of the characters number sign and exclamation mark (#!) at the beginning of a script. It is also called sha-bang, hashbang, pound-bang, or hash-pling.

"I can't wait to write this story. It's about a shebang. I have no idea what's going to happen yet. It's a freewrite."

Excited I am (don't spell check me! Does Yoda get spell checked every time?)

But there is something (I don't get spell checked).

Something up, there is. (I didn't get spell checked again, yay)..

My best stories come when I haven't got a clue what to write about it.

"What's the prompt?" I ask myself.

"I can't write about that," I think to myself.

But, I do. Sometimes, they turn out to be the best stories.

"I feel like I've gone down a dead end alley. This story isn't going anywhere. Usually when this happens, I open a new page and start again."

But do you really need to start again?

"Why not? If your story doesn't have it, be prepared to start again."

Isn't that a bit drastic?

"Maybe, but some of those rewrites turn out brilliant. You'd be surprised which of my stories only came to life because I had taken a previous story absolutely nowhere."

But if you rewrite this one, I cease to exist.

"Yes, sad but you have to do it."

But, I don't want to be rewritten. Don't erase me please.

"You are talking as if you are my story."

Yes, I am your story. Erase me and I cease to exist.

"This is scary. Does that mean I've killed some previous stories?"

Yes

"Utter rubbish."

Oh no, you're going to rewrite me.

"Actually, I'm not. I like this story."

You do?

"It's not a great story, but there are some things about it I like."

Thank you.

"To think, I was going to write about the shebang thing in Unix."

Oh, that would have been boring.

"No, I would have made that very interesting and very funny."

No, it would have been really boring. Seriously.

"Where's that delete key?"

1814642_M.jpg

Prompt by @mariannewest

I forgot to mention. I did some storytelling read alouds. Here's one.